Require .NET 3.5 Framework using Microsoft bootstrapper tool

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
gmcbath
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 4:50 pm

Require .NET 3.5 Framework using Microsoft bootstrapper tool

Postby gmcbath » Fri Dec 07, 2007 5:16 pm

I'm a newbie and purchased the product specifically for using it with the .NET 3.5 Framework (long time InstallShield user - look forward to escaping the tar pit) so please forgive me if my question is super simple for you long time InstallAware users.

---

My project requires the .NET 3.5 Framework and although I can include the framework with my project, or use Web Media Blocks to host the framework on my own servers, what I really want is this:

1) Tell InstallAware my project requires .NET 3.5 Framework.

2) Have InstallAware launch Microsoft's .NET 3.5 Framework bootstrapper utility named dotNetFx35setup.exe to perform the actual framework installation.

3) On the Application Runtimes view if I check the .NET 3.5 Framework, doesn't it require me to either include the framework in the setup, or host the framework via Web Media Blocks?

---

What I want is the 3rd option (does it exists??) - InstallAware checks the requirements (need 3.5 Framework) on the current machine, but doesn't include the framework in the setup kit (don't want a large setup kit), or be required to host the framework myself.

The reason I don't want the framework included in the setup kit is simple, I'm ok with a huge setup kit the first time a user performs an installation, but I don't want them to have to download a large setup kit each time thereafter once they have the framework installed.

---

Is what I am asking possible?

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thank you for any help on my issue!

Alex_Ronquillo
Site Admin
Posts: 364
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 11:51 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Alex_Ronquillo » Mon Dec 10, 2007 5:25 pm

1) Tell InstallAware my project requires .NET 3.5 Framework.
That is easily specified by checking the runtime application for .NET 3.5.
Have InstallAware launch Microsoft's .NET 3.5 Framework bootstrapper utility named dotNetFx35setup.exe to perform the actual framework installation.
That is also included if you check the runtime application.
On the Application Runtimes view if I check the .NET 3.5 Framework, doesn't it require me to either include the framework in the setup, or host the framework via Web Media Blocks?
Take a look at script setupnet35. You can modify it to create a webmedia block instead of file bagged the files in #IADIR#\\runtimes\\net35bin\\ directory.
Alejandro Ronquillo
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

gmcbath
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 4:50 pm

Postby gmcbath » Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:05 pm

Alex_Ronquillo wrote:
Have InstallAware launch Microsoft's .NET 3.5 Framework bootstrapper utility named dotNetFx35setup.exe to perform the actual framework installation.
That is also included if you check the runtime application.
On the Application Runtimes view if I check the .NET 3.5 Framework, doesn't it require me to either include the framework in the setup, or host the framework via Web Media Blocks?
Take a look at script setupnet35. You can modify it to create a webmedia block instead of file bagged the files in #IADIR#\\runtimes\\net35bin\\ directory.


---

Thanks for the response Alex.

Are you saying I can modify the setupnet35 script to launch the dotNetFx35set.exe program?

I don't want to host any files myself, or include the framework in the setup kit.

The dotNetFx35set.exe is a very tiny program that will let the user install the .NET 3.5 Framework from Microsoft's website which is what I want.


Thanks - George

Alex_Ronquillo
Site Admin
Posts: 364
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 11:51 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Alex_Ronquillo » Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:46 pm

That is right. Go ahead and modify the script to fulfill your needs.
Alejandro Ronquillo

InstallAware

Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer

Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

gmcbath
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 4:50 pm

Thank you

Postby gmcbath » Mon Dec 10, 2007 8:37 pm

Thank you Alex for the quick reply!

George


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 68 guests