Create Folder

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
Robert
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:56 am

Create Folder

Postby Robert » Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:32 pm

Hi,

I am having problems creating a folder. I am using the code below to
read the registry key in and create a subfolder called Backup. I am unable to to create the folder. I must be missing something. I am not sure what though. I just us the Message Box to make sure I am displaying the correct data, and the string looks fine to me.

Anyhelp would be appreciated.

Also I am not able to copy file either, I am not sure if the problem is related.

Read Registry Key HKLM\\SOFTWARE\\Corp\\Databases\\User into Data
MessageBox: Test, $Data$
Extract File Folder: Data
MessageBox: Test, $Data$
Set Variable DataBP to $Data$Backup
MessageBox: Test, $DataBP$
Create Folder $DataBP$

Thanks,

Robert

Alex_Ronquillo
Site Admin
Posts: 364
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 11:51 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Alex_Ronquillo » Wed Jan 09, 2008 2:38 pm

Do you have an "Apply Install" command after the "Create Folder" command? Any "Create Folder" command will take effect until it founds an "Apply Install" command.
Alejandro Ronquillo
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

Robert
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:56 am

Postby Robert » Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:11 pm

Thanks,

I will try that.

Robert

jimo
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:59 am
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Postby jimo » Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:31 am

Robert,
If you need the folder available before you run Apply install, try creating a batch file like this;

Code: Select all

 Does Folder Exist $DataBP$ (get result into variable BACKUPFOLDER)
 if Variable BACKUPFOLDER not Equals TRUE
       Write into Text File $SUPPORTDIR$\\temp.bat from Value md $DataBP$ (at end of file)
       Run Program $SUPPORTDIR$\\temp.bat  (WAIT)
     end
Jim Oswell
Software Engineering Manager, Dental
Greenway Health, LLC
http://greenwaymedical.com

Robert
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:56 am

Postby Robert » Thu Jan 17, 2008 2:41 pm

Thanks for the reply about the batch file.

I will try that, as I need to do this after the appy install.

Thanks.


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 89 guests