I prefer to provide an uninstall option only

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
alibaba
Posts: 314
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 8:46 am
Location: Thuringia, Germany

I prefer to provide an uninstall option only

Postby alibaba » Tue Oct 06, 2009 4:30 am

I read in the manual that I can specify this on the Dialogs Page. But unfortunatly I cannot found the option in User Interface > Dialogs . :oops:

I have InstallAware 9 Studio.

Can I change this maintenance behaviour somehow in the Design or MSICode View?

eugen.cocalea
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 12:54 pm

Postby eugen.cocalea » Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:18 am

One of the ways you could do this is to modify the dialogs / logic so the user is not prompted to choose between change and remove. Also, modify the registry for Add/Remove Programs entry, adding the NoModify / NoRepair entries.

alibaba
Posts: 314
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 8:46 am
Location: Thuringia, Germany

Postby alibaba » Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:22 am

Thank you eugen, my friend.

I tried but it didn't help...I added the entries

"NoModify"=dword:00000001
"NoRepair"=dword:00000001

in

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\SOFTWARE\\Microsoft\\Windows\\CurrentVersion\\Uninstall\\<myApp>]

I now tried the installshield way: Uninstall Shortcut that points to msiexec with argument /X $PRODUCTCODE$ but then the source is not found.

I will try further...

alibaba
Posts: 314
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 8:46 am
Location: Thuringia, Germany

Solution

Postby alibaba » Thu Oct 08, 2009 2:15 am

I now created a new project for my product and selected in the project wizard the option "I prefer to provide an uninstall option only".

I got the code for maintenance:
label: Maintenance
Comment: Maintenance Install/Uninstall
Set Variable UNINSTALL to YES
MessageBox: $TITLE$ Uninstall, Are you sure you want to uninstall the selected application and all of its components?
if Variable UNINSTALL Equals NO
Terminate Installation
else
Set Variable REMOVE to TRUE
end


I pasted this code in my standard project and now it works as desired. :-)
Would be easier if you could choose this option also if the project wizard is already finished.


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 81 guests