Problem with Parse String

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
Gareth Owen
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 8:42 am
Location: UK

Problem with Parse String

Postby Gareth Owen » Thu Jan 12, 2006 6:55 am

I am trying to parse the command line string for certain parameters and I have come up with a couple of issues

1) The CMDLINE variable seems to miss the first character
e.g the command line "setup.exe APP=TEST" gives the CMDLINE "PP=TEST" :?

2)I cannot seem to get the Parse string command to work.
I am passing in the above command line string, and am trying to get the TEST value out. I wish to use the "APP=" as the pattern to search for.

I would expect the Variable for the 2nd part would contain TEST, but I have not managed this, I just end up with the First part containing the complete string "APP=TEST"

I have tried all combinations of Operation
and using the search patter of
=
'='
$=
"="
and none of them seem to behave as I would expect. :cry:

Can you please let me know what settings to use to parse this string.

It might be worth including some more information in the help file as it does not give any pattern match examples.

Cheers

MichaelNesmith
Posts: 3452
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
Contact:

Postby MichaelNesmith » Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:09 am

Hi Gareth

I tried with both a single file build and an uncompressed build - could not reproduce the issue where the first letter of the command line string is going missing. Any hints on how to reproduce?

About the parse string errors...I am escalating this to the product team, looks funny to me as well...
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

Gareth Owen
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 8:42 am
Location: UK

Postby Gareth Owen » Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:31 am

Here is the script for a very simple test,
It pops up a dialog displaying $CMDLINE$

In this case I used a Single EXE but the same effect was obtained using the uncompressed install.

I ran it using the command line

testInstall.exe TEST=TEST

and the message box displayed

Command Line: EST=TEST /m...........

Cheers

File Attached:

test_proj.mia

MichaelNesmith
Posts: 3452
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
Contact:

Postby MichaelNesmith » Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:54 am

What is your exact IDE version, could you click Help->About and copy the version string displayed on the right hand corner please?
Michael Nesmith

InstallAware

Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer

Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

Gareth Owen
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 8:42 am
Location: UK

Postby Gareth Owen » Thu Jan 12, 2006 12:13 pm

Version 5.0 (Build ponderosa_rtm.051213)

MichaelNesmith
Posts: 3452
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
Contact:

Postby MichaelNesmith » Thu Jan 12, 2006 12:21 pm

Ah, I've managed to reproduce this one as well. My test project name had a space in it so I was running using the form

Code: Select all

"my project.exe" param=value
. But when I saved the project using a name without spaces, so I could run it without quotes, such as

Code: Select all

test.exe param=value
I got the same thing happening that you described. Thanks for reporting - this has been escalated to the product team.
Michael Nesmith

InstallAware

Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer

Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

MichaelNesmith
Posts: 3452
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
Contact:

Postby MichaelNesmith » Thu Jan 12, 2006 6:07 pm

This issue has been resolved. Thank you for reporting. An update will be made available soon.
Michael Nesmith

InstallAware

Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer

Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

IanM
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 1:23 pm

Postby IanM » Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:32 am

MichaelNesmith wrote:This issue has been resolved. Thank you for reporting. An update will be made available soon.

Hi,

Any progress on this fix?

CandiceJones
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:03 pm
Contact:

Postby CandiceJones » Wed Feb 01, 2006 9:37 am

Hi Ian!

This issue was resolved and the version posted on 13 January 2006 contains fixes for this issue (among others).
Candice Jones
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

IanM
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 1:23 pm

Postby IanM » Wed Feb 01, 2006 9:38 am

CandiceJones wrote:Hi Ian!

This issue was resolved and the version posted on 13 January 2006 contains fixes for this issue (among others).


Thanks Candice. Sorted now!


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 157 guests