Hi guys, just a quick question.
We have set up some serial number checking within our installation.
but this is done during the User Interview stage, e.g. enter number, check number, if invalid, go back to enter new number.
In the case of Administrative installs, the dialogs do not appear, In fact I do not think that this section of code is even run.
Can you confirm, which parts of the code are run when doing admin installs (using the /s flag)
I actually want the user to enter the serial number as part of the Command line for the MSI,
but for this, where do I need to put my validation code, and how do I exit the MSI gracefully with some sort of logged information.
Cheers
Checking Serial Numbers with Administrative Installs
-
- Posts: 149
- Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 8:42 am
- Location: UK
-
- Posts: 149
- Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 8:42 am
- Location: UK
-
- Posts: 3452
- Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
- Contact:
The /s switch runs setup silently. Default values will be used for all dialog fields. You can pass different values when running from the command line, see the help file topic "setup command line parameters" for details.
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
-
- Posts: 149
- Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 8:42 am
- Location: UK
So does it actually run the code in the dialog section?
In our case, after the reg dialog, the serial number is checked, if it is invalid, the serial number dialog would normally be re-displayed.
In the /s install, what would happen.
1) It ignores ALL the code in the dialog section, (from where to where?)
2) It runs the code but just does not display the dialog itself, (getting stuck in an infinite loop if the serial is invalid?)
Cheers
In our case, after the reg dialog, the serial number is checked, if it is invalid, the serial number dialog would normally be re-displayed.
In the /s install, what would happen.
1) It ignores ALL the code in the dialog section, (from where to where?)
2) It runs the code but just does not display the dialog itself, (getting stuck in an infinite loop if the serial is invalid?)
Cheers
-
- Posts: 3452
- Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
- Contact:
It would start looping infinitely, yes. Dialogs are all skipped with default values.
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
-
- Posts: 149
- Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 8:42 am
- Location: UK
What I need to know is where exactly i need to put my validation code so that it will get run during a silent install.
At what point does the installation continue after the dialogs?
As a further point, is there a variable to determine if a silent install is taking place?
It would be useful if I can catch the silent installs and run a different validation script.
Cheers
At what point does the installation continue after the dialogs?
As a further point, is there a variable to determine if a silent install is taking place?
It would be useful if I can catch the silent installs and run a different validation script.
Cheers
-
- Posts: 3452
- Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
- Contact:
All of these are documented:
The SILENT variable indicates whether setup is running in silent mode, and can even be overriden (see pre-defined variables in help).
The topic "setup command line parameters" has examples of specifying variable values from the command line (such as your serial numbers).
The SILENT variable indicates whether setup is running in silent mode, and can even be overriden (see pre-defined variables in help).
The topic "setup command line parameters" has examples of specifying variable values from the command line (such as your serial numbers).
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
-
- Posts: 149
- Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 8:42 am
- Location: UK
Thanks for the SILENT var
I have already managed to pass the serial number into the build, but I am still not sure exactly which bits get ignored.
is it just the Display Dialog being suppressed, or is the whole User Interview section skipped?
I have not managed to find this information in the help.
Cheers

I have already managed to pass the serial number into the build, but I am still not sure exactly which bits get ignored.
is it just the Display Dialog being suppressed, or is the whole User Interview section skipped?
I have not managed to find this information in the help.
Cheers
-
- Posts: 3452
- Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
- Contact:
Nothing in your code is skipped. Dialogs, message boxes are just not shown.
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
-
- Posts: 149
- Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 8:42 am
- Location: UK
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 182 guests