Using Run Program with another IA .exe file question....

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
Edhy
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 4:09 pm
Location: New York, USA

Using Run Program with another IA .exe file question....

Postby Edhy » Tue Jun 19, 2007 12:04 pm

Hi All,

I have 2 Setups created with IA 6.6, one is the Main Setup and the 2nd is the Workstation Setup. When the main setup is executed at the end I call the Run Program feature to silently executy the Workstation Setup for my application.

Is there a way to make the execution process of the Workstation Setup to shown in the progress bar of the Main Setup?

I ask this because the process of runing the Workstation Setup /s is a bit lenghty and the user may get the impression the installer hangs.

My temporary solution is to create a custon dialog and show this with a mesage to the user while the Workstation Setup is being installed, then Hide it, but I wonder if this can be done using the ProgressBar of the Main Setup.

Thanks.
Edhy Rijo
Thom Child and Family Services

Edhy
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 4:09 pm
Location: New York, USA

Postby Edhy » Thu Jun 21, 2007 3:48 pm

Hi,

Is there anybody from InstallAware kind enough to provide some feedback in the forums, specially with messages in which there is not an easy response from the help file like this one.

I need to know if how a progressbar dialog can show the progress bar for a Run Program command.

Here is the code I have:

Code: Select all

    Apply Install (get result into variable SUCCESS)
    if Variable SUCCESS not Equals ERROR
      if Variable SUCCESS not Equals CANCEL
        Comment: Run the Workstation Setup scrpt.
        Set Variable WORKSTATION_SETUP_FILE to $TARGETDIR$\\Workstation Setup\\EZC-workstation setup.exe
        Does File Exist $WORKSTATION_SETUP_FILE$ (get result into variable WORKSTATION_SETUP_FILE_EXIST)
        if Variable WORKSTATION_SETUP_FILE_EXIST Equals TRUE

          Display Dialog: dezCallTrack_WS_Progress, use as progress dialog (non-modal)
          Run Program $WORKSTATION_SETUP_FILE$ /s USE_CDR_SERVER=TRUE (WAIT)
          Hide Dialog
          Set Variable PROGRESS to 100

        end
         
        Comment: Check if there is any update online.
        Run Program $UNINSTALLLINK$ /update
      end
    end
  end


I would like the progress bar to show the progress while the RunProgram command is being executing. Is this possible? if not, do I have any other wait to get this feedback to the user?

Thanks!
Edhy Rijo
Thom Child and Family Services

jed
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:24 am

Postby jed » Thu Jun 21, 2007 10:48 pm

[quote="Edhy"]Hi,

I need to know if how a progressbar dialog can show the progress bar for a Run Program command.

[/quote]

I suggest for issues like this, you contact support directly.

Edhy
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 4:09 pm
Location: New York, USA

Postby Edhy » Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:51 am

Hi Jed,

Thanks for the recomendation, but I don't see why a simply response like this can be or can not be done requires a paid support.

It looks like these forums are not being monitored by IA support anymore. IA is a great product.

After looking at old post here I found a message from Michael Nesmith
http://www.installaware.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1557&highlight=progressbar which gave me an idea of how to use the Progress Bar using a MARQUEE value and give the user the impression that the installation process was working.
If you can use (Un)Install MSI Setup, yes. If not, set PROGRESSMODE to MARQUEE:
PROGRESSMODE: Initially an empty string. If set to MARQUEE, the standard ProgressBar control will move like a marquee, ideal for use with tasks whose completion times are indeterminate.
Edhy Rijo
Thom Child and Family Services


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 84 guests