Avoid check for pre-requisite on uninstall

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
mwilner
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 5:55 am

Avoid check for pre-requisite on uninstall

Postby mwilner » Tue Sep 15, 2015 11:54 am

Hello,
I am checking for pre-requisite before installation and install those if needed.
Now on uninstall the same routine is checking for pre-requisites and wants to install them again even if you uninstall the application.
How can I avoid this from happening?

Best regards,
Manfred Wilner

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Avoid check for pre-requisite on uninstall

Postby FrancescoT » Tue Sep 15, 2015 1:01 pm

Dear Manfred,

I suppose this happens because you altered the default main script behavior.

I suggest to you and for test "purpose", to create a new "dummy" project from scratch and then to include an Application Runtime to the project.
In this way you will see where the respective "check" and "setup" Runtime scripts are sequenced within the project main script.

In your case I have the feeling that a "check" Runtime script, has been "erroneously" sequenced around the "Perform Uninstallation CODE REGION" of your main script.

Hope this helps you.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

mwilner
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 5:55 am

Re: Avoid check for pre-requisite on uninstall

Postby mwilner » Tue Sep 15, 2015 1:21 pm

Hello Francesco,
Thank you for the quick reply.
The check runtime script is in the CheckApplication Pre-Requisites region and apparently this is run through even on uninstall.
I wasn't sure if the MAINTENANCE variable would work in the region but it seems to work. So I am checking if this variable is not true and only then do the check for runtimes.

Is the installer supposed to run through this CheckApplication Pre-Requisites region?

Best regards,
Manfred Wilner

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Avoid check for pre-requisite on uninstall

Postby FrancescoT » Tue Sep 15, 2015 1:38 pm

Dear Manfred,

check within the "Install Application Pre-Requisite", the relative "setup rtm" script should be within the "if Variable PREREQ not Equals FALSE" block ...otherwise it could be executed Always.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

mwilner
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 5:55 am

Re: Avoid check for pre-requisite on uninstall

Postby mwilner » Tue Sep 15, 2015 1:56 pm

Hi Francesco,
Thank you again, yes this is the case.
The actual problem is not the installation of the pre-requisite rather the check for it as sometime this can take a very long time and while you are uninstalling it doesn't seem to be needed to have the pre-requisite fulfilled.
It seems odd to me that this happens.

Best regards,
Manfred Wilner

GFXDude2010
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 12:22 pm

Re: Avoid check for pre-requisite on uninstall

Postby GFXDude2010 » Fri Sep 18, 2015 10:39 am

I too altered the default installation logic, before realizing the "suggested" route is essentially the best route. Rather than recreating the project from scratch, I opted to just check the Pre-Defined variable REMOVE in my Check Application Pre-Requisites Region.

Code: Select all

[DEFINE REGION: Check/Install Application Pre-Requisites]
[DEFINE REGION: Check Application Pre-Requisites]
label: Check Application Pre-requisites
if Variable REMOVE Equals FALSE
  Include Script: checkPreRequisites
   
  if Variable PRELIST not Equals
    Display Dialog: prereq, wait for dialog to return (modal)
    if Variable WIZARD Equals BACK
      GoTo Label: Welcome Dialog
    end
    if Variable WIZARD Equals CANCEL
      Display Dialog: cancel, wait for dialog to return (modal)
      Terminate Installation
    end
  end
end
<<Code Folding Region>>
[DEFINE REGION: Install Application Pre-Requisites]
label: Install Application Pre-requisites
if Variable REMOVE Equals FALSE
  Include Script: installPreRequisites
end
<<Code Folding Region>>
<<Code Folding Region>>


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 133 guests