Another 32/64bit issue..

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
lanamor
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 12:18 pm

Another 32/64bit issue..

Postby lanamor » Thu Dec 10, 2015 10:39 am

I've read every post concerning the Set 64bit Mode and it doesn't seem to help me. Attached is a sample native setup. I'm trying to write a file to C:\windows\system32\tasks on a 64 bit OS but the file gets redirected to c:\windows\syswow64\tasks. The issue seems to be where in the script I'm running the Write Text File command. If I place the write file at the very top, or somewhere in the Global settings it works, but when I place it down at "TO-DO: Insert any additional install commands here" it always redirects to c:\windows\syswow64\tasks.

Code: Select all

[DEFINE REGION: Define Setup Globals]
Comment: Define Setup Components
Define Component: My Project
 
Comment: Initialize Setup Globals
Set x64 - Native 64 bit Windows, AMD64 and EM64T Architectures - installation mode
Get System Setting Windows NT Kernel (NT4, 2000, XP, 2003, Vista, 2008) into ISNT
Get Folder Location System->Program Files Directory into PROGRAMFILES
Get Common Folder Location System->Program Files Directory into COMMONFILES
Get Common Folder Location Start Menu->Programs Group into SHORTCUTFILESALL
Get Folder Location Start Menu->Programs Group into SHORTCUTFILES
if Variable SHORTCUTFILESALL Equals
  Set Variable SHORTCUTFILESALL to $SHORTCUTFILES$
end
Get Folder Location System->Desktop Directory into DESKTOPDIR
Get Folder Location System->Windows Directory into WINDIR
Get Folder Location System->System Directory into SYSTEM32
Set Win32 - Native 32 bit Windows and Windows 32 on Windows 64 (WOW64) - installation mode
Get Folder Location System->System Directory into SYSWOW64
Get Folder Location System->Program Files Directory into PROGRAMFILES_X86
Get Common Folder Location System->Program Files Directory into COMMONFILES_X86
Set x64 - Native 64 bit Windows, AMD64 and EM64T Architectures - installation mode
Get Folder Location Taskbar->Quick Launch Directory into QUICKLAUNCHDIR
Get Folder Location WWW->WWWRoot into WWWROOTDIR
 
Set Variable ISWIN64 to FALSE
Get System Setting Windows in 64 bit Mode into ISWIN64
if Variable ISWIN64 Equals TRUE
  Set x64 - Native 64 bit Windows, AMD64 and EM64T Architectures - installation mode
end
END Region


Code: Select all

  [DEFINE WEB MEDIA My Project]
  Get Component My Project Selection State into Variable SELECTED
  if Variable SELECTED Equals TRUE
  end
  Comment: TO-DO: Insert any additional install commands here
   
  Write into Text File C:\windows\system32\Tasks\test1.txt from Value test (at end of file)
  Write into Text File c:\windows\syswow64\Tasks\test2.txt from Value test (at end of file)
   
  Set Permissions on File System Object "" for
  [compiler if Variable BUILDMODE Equals PATCH]
  Apply Patch (get result into variable SUCCESS)
  [compiler else]
  if Variable ADVERTISE Equals TRUE
    Apply Advertised (get result into variable SUCCESS)
    else
    Apply Install (get result into variable SUCCESS)
  end
  [compiler end]
   
  Set Variable PROGRESS to 100
end
END Region
Attachments
My Project.zip
(476.54 KiB) Downloaded 481 times

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Another 32/64bit issue..

Postby FrancescoT » Thu Dec 10, 2015 12:56 pm

Dear lanamor,

I don't know how you tested the attached project, but for what I can tell, both TXT files get created correctly under the respective system folders.
I just tested the generated setup on my WIN 7 SP1 x64 test machine.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

lanamor
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 12:18 pm

Re: Another 32/64bit issue..

Postby lanamor » Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:30 pm

I'm testing on Win10 64bit

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Another 32/64bit issue..

Postby FrancescoT » Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:32 am

Dear lanamor,

just tested on WIN 10 x64 (Cumulative update) and I don't see any problem.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 117 guests