Getting estimated size and writing it to the registry

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
pfennig
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 8:39 am

Getting estimated size and writing it to the registry

Postby pfennig » Thu May 19, 2016 8:58 am

InstallAware setups don't write the value EstimatedSize into the registry. So, we would like to do this ourselfs.

On the destination form there is a value for "Space Required" and a StaticText control that receives information from "Total required space".
Is there a way to get the value into a variable to use it for later purposes?
Best regards
pfennig

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4862
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Getting estimated size and writing it to the registry

Postby FrancescoT » Thu May 19, 2016 12:55 pm

Dear Pfennig,

Please have a look at the following links;
http://www.installaware.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=8750&p=32156&hilit=estimated+size+ARP#p32156
http://www.installaware.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1865&hilit=estimated+size+ARP

You may use the "Get Component Space" command to get the space requirements of a component previously defined by the Define Component command.

Hope this helps you.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

pfennig
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 8:39 am

Re: Getting estimated size and writing it to the registry

Postby pfennig » Fri May 20, 2016 4:51 am

Yes it helped indeed, thank you :)
Best regards

pfennig

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4862
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Getting estimated size and writing it to the registry

Postby FrancescoT » Fri May 20, 2016 11:56 am

:D
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests