Remembering ListBox Selection

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
hkeller
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 10:33 am

Remembering ListBox Selection

Postby hkeller » Tue Jan 31, 2017 1:12 pm

I am having an issue re-highlighting a user's ListBox choice (Dialog 1) if they go Back from Dialog 2. I have been able to make a default selection by setting the variable the ListBox is linked to, but if the user does not choose the default ListBox item and returns to that dialog no item is highlighted, even though in the code the variable (linked to the ListBox) contains the correct value. I am using InstallAware 12, is this possible?

Attached is an example of what I am seeing. (From the first dialog select "StringB" then go to the next dialog. Click Back and see that no item in the ListBox is highlighted).

Thanks,

Hannah
Attachments
ListBoxIssue.zip
(37.54 KiB) Downloaded 237 times

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5360
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Remembering ListBox Selection

Postby FrancescoT » Thu Feb 02, 2017 4:45 am

Dear Hannah,

please have a look at my edited copy of the project.

Because you are using an old IA version, I recommend the of use the control instead of the TListBox control.

Please note that I had to use IA X5 to edit you original project.
Probably you will be not able to open it correctly using IA 12, but you should be able to load the script file and the extra dialog I used for the TCheckListBox control.

Hope this helps you.

Regards
Attachments
ListBoxTest.rar
(937 KiB) Downloaded 238 times
ListBoxTest_compiled.rar
(3.91 MiB) Downloaded 219 times
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

hkeller
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 10:33 am

Re: Remembering ListBox Selection

Postby hkeller » Wed Feb 08, 2017 3:35 pm

Hi Francesco,

I know I am using an older version so I appreciate you still looking into it. I had looked into using a checkbox control instead, the one issue I have is the user should only be allowed to select one item and I did not see a way to do that with the checkbox control. I know I could probably accomplish what I want with radio buttons, but believe there would be a lot more overhead as I would have to do checks for the TRUE/FALSE values of the radio buttons to set another variable to the string value of the radio buttons. I will probably stick with what I have with the listbox until we upgrade to a newer version.

Thanks for the help,

Hannah

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5360
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Remembering ListBox Selection

Postby FrancescoT » Thu Feb 09, 2017 2:52 pm

Dear Hannah,

to allow the single-item selection, you may set to FALSE the "MultiSelect" property of the "TListBox".

Hope this helps you.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 58 guests