Localization Process

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
rufhouse

Localization Process

Postby rufhouse » Tue Apr 26, 2005 3:09 pm

Hi -

I am new to the InstallPackage world. Saw a link on another forum and had to check y'all out. I have tried the trial versions of InstallAnywhere, InstallShield and Wise. I like InstallAWAREs IDE and tools, pretty neat, cleaver layout... just tring to get it all to work. my boss likes the interface of InstallAWARE, so I am researching it more at this point.

---
What I am having trouble with today is the localization process. My end result toay is to create a simple install package in Chinese (PRC).
My system has the Chinese language selected in the regional settings (control panel).
I am using WinXP_Pro with SP1.

---
Here is where I am from the directions so far...

1) Language setting in the 'Project Options' dialog correct - set to Chinesee (PRC).

OK that was easy and clear...

Instructions now suggest to do the following:

2) Edit the instalation script with the 'script editor' and localize all the strings used in the script.

:?: HELP - how do I do this? Is the script editor selected at the bottom of the IDE changing between visual/code? If yes, how do I localize strings used in the dialogs?

3) Edit your installation dialogs, and localize all strings used in the installation dialogs.

:?: HELP - lost on this one too. I can open the dialog editor and modify text, but do I update it with a translation, say from 'babelfish.com' or is that done in the Translator tool?

4) Open the Translator utility (choose ToolsStart Translator) and localize all strings falling under your target language.

OK, opened the Translator Tool, found Chinese(PRC). I see the 2 columns of text on the right side of the screen. :?: Do I update the left language? with what? Am I editing for meaning? or the language's characters. Is this where 'babelfish.com' translations are inserted? I think I may be on the wrong page...