I would like to build an installer that packages the required directories dynamically.
For example, I have 200 examples store in corresponding directory EXAMPLE_XXX that I can cherry-pick to package in the installer. Let's say I like to package Example 10-30, 50-80, 120-150. Is there a way for me to specify the choice effectively through maybe the compiler variables?
Thanks!
How dynamic can InstallAware be?
-
- Posts: 3452
- Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
- Contact:
Well, you can selectively include/exclude files by compiler variable values, but you do need to code this in the script.
Additionally, you can use compiler variable values to populate file and folder fields at build time - selectively including/excluding wildcards, specific folders, etc.
But if you just have 200 random folders with no shared/discernable characteristics, it seems like a manual job either way.
Additionally, you can use compiler variable values to populate file and folder fields at build time - selectively including/excluding wildcards, specific folders, etc.
But if you just have 200 random folders with no shared/discernable characteristics, it seems like a manual job either way.
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
-
- Posts: 3452
- Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
- Contact:
Like I already said, if your files have no common patterns to discern them, then yes, that is the only tedious way.
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
-
- Posts: 3452
- Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
- Contact:
Sorry, that's not possible. You can use, if you want, the automation interface, to programmatically emit setup scripts. Maybe this is what you need.
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
Post subject: How dynamic can InstallAware be?
What about externally modifying the IA script so that the Install statements are dynamically generated?
The problem we are having is that we need a way to dynamically create the install list that IA will compile with.
Example line that would be dynamically "imported" into the main install script for the compile:
Install Files #SOURCEDIR#\\myFile.xml to $TARGETDIR$\\myFile.xml, include subfolders
Does InstallAware support this?
Thanks,
The problem we are having is that we need a way to dynamically create the install list that IA will compile with.
Example line that would be dynamically "imported" into the main install script for the compile:
Install Files #SOURCEDIR#\\myFile.xml to $TARGETDIR$\\myFile.xml, include subfolders
Does InstallAware support this?
Thanks,
Automation
What you are asking can be done with the automation interface. It is actually even more versatile and is scriptable via the web or within your own program. That basically means you can create and build an entire installation outside of the IA UI. What you can do with it is only limited by your imagination.
That was one of the main reasons I purchased the full blown version as I needed two things...
Dynamically generated installations built from information a user enters on the web.
A way for my users to generate an installation program to redistribute graphic design templates created in my program.
Quite pleased with the results, besides a few little quirks here and there.
That was one of the main reasons I purchased the full blown version as I needed two things...
Dynamically generated installations built from information a user enters on the web.
A way for my users to generate an installation program to redistribute graphic design templates created in my program.
Quite pleased with the results, besides a few little quirks here and there.
documentation...
I've looked at the automation interface, and honestly the only function that stands out is the addCommand. But it has ~23 non-named parameters that can be used to help define the command added.
Now i've tried reseaching the different commands and their respective parameters but i'm ending up short on that - anyone have a url(s) or information on that?
Is there no way for the AI to load a template script up and have the ability to modify it once loaded?
SteveX - you are right this looks like the only solution to my problem but i'm lacking documenation that would help me get up and running quickly.
I appreciate any help or comments -
Cheers,
Marc.
Now i've tried reseaching the different commands and their respective parameters but i'm ending up short on that - anyone have a url(s) or information on that?
Is there no way for the AI to load a template script up and have the ability to modify it once loaded?
SteveX - you are right this looks like the only solution to my problem but i'm lacking documenation that would help me get up and running quickly.
I appreciate any help or comments -
Cheers,
Marc.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 125 guests