I have a setup with the following logic:
[offline content]
Install offline files
[define web component]
if file exists
prompt for CD2
copy files from CD to hard drive
else
install from website
end
What is wierd is that the prompt for CD2 is occurring before any offline files are installed. Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong?
MessageBox at bottom of script displays first
-
- Posts: 50
- Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:56 pm
-
- Posts: 50
- Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:56 pm
RE: MessageBox at bottom of script displays first
As you suggested, I ran with debug. Here's what happened:
1. Dialogs displayed as expected
2. Offline file section was parsed but not executed until Apply Install command initiated at the end of the script.
3. The messagebox dialog (which appears before the Apply Install command) displayed after the dialogs and before any of the offline file progress.
Any suggestions?
1. Dialogs displayed as expected
2. Offline file section was parsed but not executed until Apply Install command initiated at the end of the script.
3. The messagebox dialog (which appears before the Apply Install command) displayed after the dialogs and before any of the offline file progress.
Any suggestions?
-
- Posts: 50
- Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:56 pm
You can do this using Web Media Blocks; these basically will allow you to split the installation into lots of smaller installations.
Please see this thread: http://forums.installaware.com/viewtopic.php?t=190&highlight=split
Please see this thread: http://forums.installaware.com/viewtopic.php?t=190&highlight=split
Andy Neillans
-
- Posts: 50
- Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:56 pm
I have reviewed the thread you posted as well as this thread:
http://forums.installaware.com/viewtopic.php?t=1839
In both threads it mentions displaying a prompt for CD2. Based on these recommendations I have created a test project and attached it here. Would you please review and let me know what I'm doing wrong?
I am still being prompted for CD2 prior to any files from CD1 being copied.
File Attached:
Spans Two CDs.zip
http://forums.installaware.com/viewtopic.php?t=1839
In both threads it mentions displaying a prompt for CD2. Based on these recommendations I have created a test project and attached it here. Would you please review and let me know what I'm doing wrong?
I am still being prompted for CD2 prior to any files from CD1 being copied.
File Attached:
Spans Two CDs.zip
Immediate response is that your setup type is incorrect; to use Web Media Blocks you must use the Web Build option - otherwise they are not used.
However, I can't seem to build your example, and looking at the script I think something might be wrong with your logic.
I will try and create one when I have some time and post it here.
However, I can't seem to build your example, and looking at the script I think something might be wrong with your logic.
I will try and create one when I have some time and post it here.
Andy Neillans
-
- Posts: 50
- Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:56 pm
I have attached a code snippet as a screenshot. Unless I am doing something very wrong, it appears the current multi-CD workaround using media sets and the MessageBox doesn't work. I welcome any suggestions to help me get this working.
File Attached:
Span Two Disks Code Screenshot.JPG
File Attached:
Span Two Disks Code Screenshot.JPG
Please have a look at the rough project attached; I hope it will offer some insight...
I think it would be better to replace the MessageBox calls with Dialogs, however, this is for you to decide
File Attached:
Multi Source.zip
I think it would be better to replace the MessageBox calls with Dialogs, however, this is for you to decide

File Attached:
Multi Source.zip
Andy Neillans
Hi, I am trying to use multiple installation media as well. I looked at your example project and saw that it doesn't handle any situations beside the user doing what he asked to do (i.e. change the media). I tried to add a conditional goto jump that loops the check for the 7zip archive as long as it has not been found. Now the compiler complains about a label inside of a conditional loop (if/else) but it is not. I tried putting the label at the beginning of the offline content section, before and before the whole region, but all places make no difference. Right now the user is presented a download dialog if the file is not there. That should not be the case. What can I do?
Oh, right, it is inside of an if statement. Anyways, that doesn't make it any better. I really think there should be a mechanism for this other than this workaround in installaware. I think right now I need to put the label before all web blocks and make checks for every web media block if it is already installed in case I have to loop any file checks...
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 116 guests