Light mode setups

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
zchris
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:16 am
Location: Austria

Light mode setups

Postby zchris » Tue Aug 30, 2005 5:29 am

I have trouble including a light mode setup.

I've taken an existing setup ("Components") and added the compiler variable NOEXE=TRUE. (compression=none, output=single exe)

In my application setup I've added Components.exe to the support files.

When I call

Code: Select all

Run Light Mode InstallAware Setup $SUPPORTDIR$\\Components.exe (get result into variable SUCCESS)

I see the InstallAware wizard dialog (preparing ...) and then an error message: Setup resource not found

Is this a bug related to the icon problem or am I doing something wrong?

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 1020
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Tue Aug 30, 2005 9:29 am

This seems to be a problem with the light mode execution routines. I have escalated this and we'll get back to you soon with a resolution.

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 1020
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Tue Aug 30, 2005 11:57 am

Sorry, this one is a false alarm, there is no problem. The correct procedure for running a light mode setup can be a bit tricky. In a nutshell:

a) If you are running a web or compressed build, you need to extract it first using the Extract 7Zip Archive command
b) Then, or if you are running an uncompressed build, you can call the Run Light Mode Setup command

Below is a bit of code that illustrates this:

Code: Select all

~InstallAWARE Clipboard Data~
~Run Light Mode Setup~
~{96BE42F1-64C9-4DB3-BBC4-2A61DB0238C4}~
~$TEMPDIR$\\test extract\\my project.exe~
~~
~~
~TRUE~
~Extract 7Zip Archive~
~{104E9C42-534C-44A7-8943-F55DB1666CD5}~
~$SUPPORTDIR$\\My Project.exe~
~$TEMPDIR$\\test extract~
~~
~~
~TRUE~
~TRUE~

zchris
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:16 am
Location: Austria

Postby zchris » Wed Aug 31, 2005 1:44 am

I usually like InstallAware for its simplicity. This however seems a bit like a kludge to me. Maybe you can update the command to do this automatically (including cleanup) in the next version? Thanks!

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 1020
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Wed Aug 31, 2005 6:18 am

Agreed. Thank you for pointing this out!

jimo
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:59 am
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Postby jimo » Wed Aug 31, 2005 9:24 am

THe workaround I use is similar to the one Sinan posted except I display a progrees dialog while the extract command is running, I agree however that cleanup afterwards is a problem there is no way of deleting the extracted files and from the temp directory you create.

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 1020
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Wed Aug 31, 2005 9:30 am

Displaying a progress dialog is a good idea.

To make the cleanup easier...you can just extract to a subfolder of $SUPPORTDIR$, say $SUPPORTDIR$\\light. $SUPPORTDIR$ is always recursively wiped at the end of the master setup...so you wouldn't have to worry about manually deleting anything.

jimo
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:59 am
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Postby jimo » Wed Aug 31, 2005 9:39 am

Great Idea, I'll give that a go!


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests