How to set a minimum requirement for Windows XP with SP2

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
JasonCrone
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 2:23 pm

How to set a minimum requirement for Windows XP with SP2

Postby JasonCrone » Fri May 25, 2007 1:22 pm

We will be creating another installer, but for this one they do not want to require a MS .NET Framework version but they require at least Windows XP with SP2. Is there any way to check for this? Can this be added to the Application Information > Application Requirements screen? On the minimum for IE there are all of the versions with each service pack, but for the minimum OS there is no check for SP's. I am not sure if this is even possible, but it would be nice if it was.

Any feedback would be appriciated, especially some help/advice on my actual question!

jimo
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:59 am
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Postby jimo » Sat Jun 02, 2007 6:21 am

Try this:

Code: Select all

Get System Setting Windows XP into CHECKSYSTEM
 if Variable CHECKSYSTEM not Equals TRUE
   MessageBox: $TITLE$ Setup Error, This product requires at least Windows XP.$NEWLINE$$NEWLINE$Setup cannot continue.
   Terminate Installation
   else
   Get System Setting Service Pack 2 into CHECKSYSTEM
   if Variable CHECKSYSTEM Equals TRUE
     MessageBox: $TITLE$ Setup, Windows XP with Service Pack 2
   end
 end
Jim Oswell
Software Engineering Manager, Dental
Greenway Health, LLC
http://greenwaymedical.com


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 125 guests