Windows 2000 Service Pack 4 as a requirement

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
srowe
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 12:48 pm

Windows 2000 Service Pack 4 as a requirement

Postby srowe » Wed Oct 12, 2005 3:13 pm

How would I go about making Win2K SP4 a requirement. I can see where I can set the OS requirement to Win2K, but we want to narrow the requirement more than that. Is this possible?

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 1020
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:12 pm

Sure, just use the Get System Settings command to obtain the service pack level - this will take just a little bit of custom scripting.

srowe
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 12:48 pm

Example of how to check for Service Pack 4 if user has Win2K

Postby srowe » Thu Oct 27, 2005 2:59 pm

I am not having any luck finding how to write the code to check whether a user has Service Pack 4 if they are running my InstallAware installer on Windows 2000.

Any pointers would be appreciated.

Thanks,

- Steve Rowe
PhotoWorks, Inc.

K-ballo
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:45 pm

Postby K-ballo » Thu Oct 27, 2005 5:14 pm

All you have to do is change to Code View, and at the beggining of the file and change it to look exactly like this:

// Check setup pre-requisites
Get System Setting Windows 2000 into CHECKSYSTEM
If Variable CHECKSYSTEM not Equals TRUE
MessageBox: $TITLE$ Setup Error, This product requires at least Windows 2000.$NEWLINE$$NEWLINE$Setup cannot continue.
Terminate Installation
end

Get System Settings Service Pack 4 into CHECKSP
If Variable CHECKSP not Equals TRUE
MessageBox: $TITLE$ Setup Error, This product requires at least Service Pack 4.$NEWLINE$$NEWLINE$Setup cannot continue.
Terminate Installation
end

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 1020
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:05 pm

Actually, this needs an additional check for Windows XP, so the SP check is performed only if Windows XP returns false.

wolbrink
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 3:00 pm

Postby wolbrink » Wed Dec 21, 2005 9:53 pm

sinan wrote:Sure, just use the Get System Settings command to obtain the service pack level - this will take just a little bit of custom scripting.


For some reason I first thought these "service pack" levels were NT4 specific. But apparently the service pack levels are specific to the runtime flavor of Windows.

--Troy


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests