Install SQL Express & database...only sometimes???

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
5aclockshadow
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 9:27 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Install SQL Express & database...only sometimes???

Postby 5aclockshadow » Fri Jul 09, 2010 5:14 pm

I need to modify my setup so that certain customers can choose to install:

1.) Just our software (currently the only option) -- customers choose this option when they are going to point to an existing SQL server...
2.) Just SQL Express and our database (attach pre-config db vs. run script during install) -- always on the local PC
3.) Or both our software & SQL Express w/ our database -- always on the local PC

I see that in IA v6.6 I have the option to set SQL Express as a PreReq but won't that install it on all PCs that don't already have it installed? If so, this is no good for me. I need the customer to choose from a dropdown or something like that.

What is the best way to accomplish the SQL install only when a customer chooses that option?

And can I have a pre-config db and do an attach during the setup on the local PC? If this is an option, what are benfits/downsides to doing it this way versus running a script to create the database?


Thanks for any help!

MichaelNesmith
Posts: 3452
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Install SQL Express & database...only sometimes???

Postby MichaelNesmith » Fri Jul 09, 2010 5:27 pm

You can attach a DB, we have customers who are doing this successfully. Your choice on whether to run a script or attach, really.

How you make your install choice based is also up to you. Many ways to do this -

You may bind your options to individual features,
You may create a custom dialog and let your users explicitly do the selection there,
You may decide on your users' behalf at runtime in your own setup through investigating the target system,
Combinations of the above...

PS: Your InstallAware version is over 4 years old! How about an upgrade?
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

5aclockshadow
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 9:27 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Install SQL Express & database...only sometimes???

Postby 5aclockshadow » Fri Jul 09, 2010 6:19 pm

Thanks for the quick reply!

I started down the custom dialog route but if I do it this way can I still use IA native SQL Express install capability? Or do I have to call the MS SQL Setup.exe during my install?

I would like to use IA's native SQL install if possible.

We will upgrade soon...was waiting for the native .NET 4.0 support.

Thanks!

MichaelNesmith
Posts: 3452
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Install SQL Express & database...only sometimes???

Postby MichaelNesmith » Fri Jul 09, 2010 6:37 pm

Native .NET 4 support has been in there for a while now :)

You can definitely use the built-in InstallAware runtimes for SQL Server - you just copy/paste the code from the prereqs block to the part in your script that you want to move it to (be that a feature installation block, or any other part of your script that you'd like to use).
Michael Nesmith

InstallAware

Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer

Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

5aclockshadow
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 9:27 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Install SQL Express & database...only sometimes???

Postby 5aclockshadow » Wed Jul 14, 2010 8:16 pm

You're the man! This worked perfectly!

Thanks for the help.

I have one other question though and it's probably an easy one...

I want the SQL install the default instance...meaning just the servername, not servername\SQLEXPRESS. If I leave blank, it uses SQLEXPRESS as the instance, if I put something in the Instance Name dialog box and click Generate Command Line, it will use whatever I type in there.

How can I force it to always use just the servername...no instance name?


Thanks!

5aclockshadow
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 9:27 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Install SQL Express & database...only sometimes???

Postby 5aclockshadow » Wed Jul 14, 2010 8:16 pm

I think I just found it...

MSSQLSERVER

???


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 45 guests