Coming from Wise 9.02 to InstallAware?

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
Edhy

Coming from Wise 9.02 to InstallAware?

Postby Edhy » Wed Feb 22, 2006 5:59 pm

Hi All,

I am evaluating InstallAware and all my experience is from Wise Installation System 9.02.

I am a database developer using Visual FoxPro as my main developer tool. The nature of my applications requires the following installation:
    Main Installation (To install all files on the Server Share or Local Computer)
    Workstation Installation (To install all supporting libraries like ActiveX controls, Visual FoxPro Runtime Libraries and program shortcuts)
    Minor Updates during Beta Testing (Update program codes preserving some data files that are not needed to be update) This is a very important step.
    After the project is complete, then update the Main Installation for future customers.
In Wise I have a script for each process and would like to know the following from InstallAware:
    How this situation can be handle with InstallAware?
    Can I use the InstallAware Patch feature in my scenario?

Thanks!

Edhy Rijo

MichaelNesmith

Postby MichaelNesmith » Wed Feb 22, 2006 7:22 pm

Hi Edhy

I think your best bet is to build installers using InstallAware - one for each task you described. I would not use the patch feature because it would make things more complex for you. Most of your Wise scripts should migrate pretty easily and please ask here if you have any questions. Note that there are a few subtle differences between Wise and InstallAware's scripting (because InstallAware is based on MSI technology) - please review the Genuine Scripting for Windows Installer whitepaper available on our website for download before beginning conversion.
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

Edhy

Postby Edhy » Wed Feb 22, 2006 7:30 pm

Thanks Michael,

I will review that document as suggested.