Forcing a reinstall

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
IanM
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 1:23 pm

Forcing a reinstall

Postby IanM » Mon Mar 13, 2006 6:44 am

Hi,

When an existing setup i.e with same product and revision codes is re-run, I would like it to default to the same functionality as a proper upgrade i.e. same product/ new revision code, so that the setup runs a complete de-install/re-install.

To acheive this, is it a simple as overriding the default variables MAINTENANCE to false and NEEDSUPGRADE to True, or will that mangle the installer?

I wonder if this is worth offering as an option on the new setup Wizard as well as the current Maintenance / uninstall options?

Ian

IanM
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 1:23 pm

Postby IanM » Mon Mar 13, 2006 7:39 am

To answer my own question, it seems to work fine here bit I would still like a little reassurnce that it is not going to bite me out in the field

To ask another!

Is there any reason why the Prerequisite sequence (which will include an uninstall) comes before the user dialogs? The net effect of this is that a user may skip past the prereq. stuff and then cancel the instllation at a point where the original has been de-installed. They then have a non-functioning system which can be a bit disconcerting.

Easy to fix, of course, by re-running the setup but would there be any knock on effect from moving the Prerequisites block to after most, or all, of the user dialogs?

MichaelNesmith
Posts: 3452
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
Contact:

Postby MichaelNesmith » Mon Mar 13, 2006 4:47 pm

Hi Ian

The mangling should be OK to do!
You can also arrange the code around so everything happens the way you want it to - the Project Wizard/Template/Sample scripts are just suggestions to get you started. You can change everything.
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

IanM
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 1:23 pm

Re: Forcing a reinstall

Postby IanM » Tue Mar 14, 2006 10:05 am

IanM wrote:Hi,

When an existing setup i.e with same product and revision codes is re-run, I would like it to default to the same functionality as a proper upgrade i.e. same product/ new revision code, so that the setup runs a complete de-install/re-install.

To acheive this, is it a simple as overriding the default variables MAINTENANCE to false and NEEDSUPGRADE to True, or will that mangle the installer?



This works if set near the begnning of the script

// Set Variables to force reinstall

if Variable MAINTENANCE Equals TRUE
Set Variable MAINTENANCE to FALSE
Set Variable NEEDSUPGRADE to TRUE
end

The IF clause is required to stop a 'cannot uninstall previous version' error if the script has never been run before.

Ian


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 171 guests