[SOLVED] Labels for Installation Progress

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
phoffman
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 10:40 am

[SOLVED] Labels for Installation Progress

Postby phoffman » Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:00 pm

Does anyone know if it's possible to bold a label or display a second bold label to indicate the stage of the installation?

Here's a good example of what I'm talking about.
Image
Last edited by phoffman on Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Labels for Installation Progress

Postby FrancescoT » Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:49 pm

Dear User,

you could define several Dialog Behavior rules (using Dialog Editor) to activate those labels conditionally based on a script variable value.

I may suggest you to have a look at the following topics available with IA documentation;

- Using the Dialog Editor
- Dialog Behavior
- Passing Values from the Script to Dialog
- Intra-Dialog Relations

Hope this helps you.

Regards.
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

phoffman
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 10:40 am

Re: Labels for Installation Progress

Postby phoffman » Thu Mar 07, 2013 2:30 pm

Untitled.png
Visual Aid
Untitled.png (83.34 KiB) Viewed 11378 times


Ok, I think that's what I settled on. I created three labels: lblComponent01 (for regular text), lblComponent01_Bold (when in progress), and lblComponent01_Grey (when waiting to install). Each of these labels are invisible by default and their caption value is set to $COMPONENT01_TEXT$. I also created another label named lblComponent01_State. This label is also invisible and its caption is set to $COMPONENT01_STATE$.

Now when I update the COMPONENT01_STATE variable to say WAIT lblComponent01_Grey is made visible (INPROGRESS - lblComponent01_Bold, COMPLETE - lblComponent01). Almost there!

But I think I'll hit a snag. See I'd like to display the features that the user selected as a label on this dialog. It sounds like a simple problem but if I call Get Component State it's going to mess up my installation because this command is used for calculating disk space and such. Any hints on how to deal with this?

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Labels for Installation Progress

Postby FrancescoT » Fri Mar 08, 2013 10:44 am

Dear User,

Honestly, I'm not quite sure to fully understand what you are reporting.

"InstallAware requires this command be used at least once in your installation to be able to accurately predict target disk space requirements."

This doesn't mean that the command can't be called more then once.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

phoffman
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 10:40 am

Re: Labels for Installation Progress

Postby phoffman » Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:11 am

Assume that I have the following command in my MSICode and that it's feature-independent.

Code: Select all

    Install Files C:\Product\disc 1\target\*.* to $TARGETDIR$, include subfolders


Now, when I add a call to Get Component State prior to my Install Files command my folder is no longer feature-independent. It's a folder of FeatureA. This can be verified by looking at Files in the Design view. Check the Filter Files by Feature checkbox and leave it on Feature independent. Select the folder and you see nothing. Switch to FeatureA and the folder appears on the right.

Code: Select all

  Get Component FeatureA Selection State into Variable SELECTED
  Install Files C:\Product\disc 1\target\*.* to $TARGETDIR$, include subfolders


Bad bad bad. I should be able to call a Get* command without having to worry about what it's going to do to my installation. How can I workaround this problem?

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Labels for Installation Progress

Postby FrancescoT » Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:55 am

Dear User,

I believe there are some misunderstanding.

By you previous email, I understood that you was tryng to obtain the state of a selected component, in order to refresh conseguently your user interface.
Probably I missed your question ... honestly I'm lost.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

phoffman
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 10:40 am

Re: Labels for Installation Progress

Postby phoffman » Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:59 am

Okay, let's try a different angle. Is Get Component State the only way to retrieve the state of a component?

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Labels for Installation Progress

Postby FrancescoT » Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:21 pm

yes, it is!

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

phoffman
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 10:40 am

Re: Labels for Installation Progress

Postby phoffman » Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:38 pm

Ok, is there a way to avoid having an InstallFiles command from being associated with a component after I call Get Component State? For example, I would like to install the files in the target folder regardless of whether I've selected the FeatureA component or not.

Code: Select all

Get Component FeatureA Selection State into Variable SELECTED
Install Files C:\Product\disc 1\target\*.* to $TARGETDIR$, include subfolders

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Labels for Installation Progress

Postby FrancescoT » Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:29 am

Dear User,

If you use features with your project, you should handle all your installed files using features.

It is true that you can have an Installed file as Feature Independet, but the command must be forcedly placed in your script, before any call to "Get Component" command.

I suggest you to add an extra feature to your project, where you handle the installation of all those files that must be installed regardless of the select features.
For example, you could create a "Core" feature selected by default and even setting, if the feature has to be visible or not in end-user setup wizard dialogs for component selection.

Obviously if you use this approach, after any call to "Get Component Selection", you should use the following way to verify if a fature have to be installed or not.

Code: Select all

Get Component Core Selection State into Variable SELECTED
if Variable SELECTED Equals FALSE
   Install Files xxxxxxx.exe to $TARGETDIR$
end


Hope this helps you.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

phoffman
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 10:40 am

Re: Labels for Installation Progress

Postby phoffman » Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:36 am

That might be a viable solution. I just looked at the help for Define Component and I don't see a way to prevent the component from being unchecked. Is there a way?

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Labels for Installation Progress

Postby FrancescoT » Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:04 am

Dear User,

as I said previously, you can;

- Set it as not visible with "Set Component Visibility"
- Set it unselectable with "Set Component Choice"

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

phoffman
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 10:40 am

Re: Labels for Installation Progress

Postby phoffman » Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:07 am

:oops: I should do a better job at reading before replying. Thanks.

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Labels for Installation Progress

Postby FrancescoT » Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:04 am

:D
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 108 guests