Include Plug-Ins vs Runtimes

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
MikeS
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 11:54 am

Include Plug-Ins vs Runtimes

Postby MikeS » Wed Jun 19, 2013 12:04 am

I see the ability to add "runtimes" to an install by selecting the available packages from the "Application Runtimes" screen in IA. I don't see the same ability for selecting available "plug-ins". For example, there is a folder under the IA folder called Plug-Ins that has the Visual C++ Runtimes folder included. How do I indicate I want that Plug-In included in the project so the necessary Visual C++ files (mfc42.dll, etc.) are installed? If this was a "runtime", I would just select that runtime to be installed as a pre-requisite on the "Application Runtimes" screen in IA. Within IA, I don't see a screen for "Plug-Ins" where I can select this package. I have the same issue for the VB6 "Plug-In". Thanks!

bokkie
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:30 am

Re: Include Plug-Ins vs Runtimes

Postby bokkie » Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:31 am

Good morning, Mike.

Plug-Ins usable by selecting them in the MSIcode window; like all statements, they are executed conditionally depending on your programmable requirements. They appear on the right-hand side with the other scripting statements and there aren't many visual clues that tell you if a plug-in is IA's or a third-party one. If you select the MSIcode tab you can see what additional plug-ins are installed by clicking the Plug-Ins button on the ribbon. Plug-Ins are registered in the registry and appear in the list of statements you drag and drop onto the code window. Adding a plug-in requires all dependent assemblies are on the machine where you build your installation and behind the scenes, IA pulls all the bits together so it can run the plug-in when you install your product on another machine.

Coming back to your original question then, you select any dependent runtimes your installation needs as you do now. Those runtimes aren't necessarily dependent on a plug-in but the plug-in could well be dependent on the runtimes; it all depends on how the plug-in is built and what references it contains to other assemblies. I might be wrong, but I believe plug-ins are only included in the media if you use them in the MSIcode. If you need something that the plug-in might use then you'd probably need additional runtimes for that. Plug-ins then sort of work independently of the runtimes and for the most part a plug-in is an independent "life form" in the primordial soup of your installation media. :)

I hope I haven't completly misunderstood your question.
Peter. Smartly dressed, he still resembles an unmade bed.
InstallAware MVP

MikeS
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 11:54 am

Re: Include Plug-Ins vs Runtimes

Postby MikeS » Wed Jun 19, 2013 10:28 am

Thank you for your response! I looked all over and couldn't find where to include Plug-Ins so I really appreciate your help. Once I went to the MSIcode tab, I saw the list of Plug-Ins on the right. The ones I was looking for (VB6 and VC++ 6) come with IA so all I had to do was include them in my install. I wasn't really sure "where" they should be included though. Here's a screenshot of how I included them. I haven't tested it yet, but it looks like this is on the right track. Please let me know if the Plug-Ins need to be in a particular area of the MSI code. I need these Plug-Ins to be installed before my application as they are needed for registering the DLL's I will be installing. Without the VB6 and VC++ runtimes, I will not be able to register my controls as they are dependent on these base runtimes. I'm guessing that these runtimes are not included in the "runtimes" list is because they are "older" runtimes. Until we update these older controls, we still need these older runtimes. Thanks again!!!
Attachments
IA.png
IA.png (64.58 KiB) Viewed 8978 times

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Include Plug-Ins vs Runtimes

Postby FrancescoT » Wed Jun 19, 2013 10:58 am

Dear Mike,

You should place the runtime check plug-ins within "[DEFINE REGION: Check Application Pre-Requisites]" and within the "[compiler if Variable BUILDMODE not Equals PATCH]".

Then place the runtime install plug-ins within "[DEFINE REGION: Install Application Pre-Requisites]" and within the "[compiler if Variable BUILDMODE not Equals PATCH]".

A trick, if you just add any other IA runtime available (... as for example the VC++ 10 runtime), you can easily verify where is the correct place to include them with your script.
Once you checked where in the code InstallAware automatically have places the required Check & Install runtime scripts calls, remove the just added runtime from your project by deselecting it within the Runtime page in IA IDE.

Hope this helps you.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

MikeS
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 11:54 am

Re: Include Plug-Ins vs Runtimes

Postby MikeS » Wed Jun 19, 2013 5:12 pm

Awesome advice!! I'm slowly figuring this out (I think). Here's how I inserted the Check.
Attachments
IACheck.png
IACheck.png (25.45 KiB) Viewed 8974 times

MikeS
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 11:54 am

Re: Include Plug-Ins vs Runtimes

Postby MikeS » Wed Jun 19, 2013 5:12 pm

And here's how I inserted the Install:
Attachments
IAInstall.png
IAInstall.png (57.31 KiB) Viewed 8974 times

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Include Plug-Ins vs Runtimes

Postby FrancescoT » Thu Jun 20, 2013 4:22 am

Dear Mike,

it seems to me all quite right.

does it work as expected?

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 79 guests