More of a question then a problem

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
jkirby
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:44 am

More of a question then a problem

Postby jkirby » Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:55 am

Firstly we have InstallAware Studio Admin version at my company (ifs)

I have created and batch file(please see below) which checks whether the system is 32bit or 64bit then installs the relevant msi with answer file. i would like to wrap this all up into one EXE or msi and make it available for my users to download.

My question.

can this be done with InstallAware Studio admin?
and is it easy to do?

Batch file script:

if %PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE%==x86 (
msiexec -i %TEMP%\jpulse\JunosPulse.x86.msi CONFIGFILE=%TEMP%\jpulse\Ifs_config.jnprpreconfig ADDLOCAL=PulseSA,SAHostChecker -qn
) else (
msiexec -i %TEMP%\jpulse\JunosPulse.x64.msi CONFIGFILE=%TEMP%\jpulse\Ifs_config.jnprpreconfig ADDLOCAL=PulseSA,SAHostChecker -qn
)

Thank you in advance for your input.

James

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: More of a question then a problem

Postby FrancescoT » Wed Feb 19, 2014 8:38 am

Dear James,

if I haven't missed your question, you want to conditionally execute an msi from your setup script instead of using that batch file.

If it is true, you can simply;

Code: Select all

Set Variable ISWIN64 to FALSE
Get System Setting Windows in 64 bit Mode into ISWIN64
if Variable ISWIN64 Equals FALSE
  Run Program msiexec.exe -i %TEMP%\jpulse\JunosPulse.x86.msi CONFIGFILE=%TEMP%\jpulse\Ifs_config.jnprpreconfig ADDLOCAL=PulseSA,SAHostChecker -qn
 else
  Run Program msiexec.exe -i %TEMP%\jpulse\JunosPulse.x64.msi CONFIGFILE=%TEMP%\jpulse\Ifs_config.jnprpreconfig ADDLOCAL=PulseSA,SAHostChecker -qn
end


The same as IA Clipboard format;

Code: Select all

~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~End~
~{102E379D-EDB7-47B9-806D-770E5C36A3C7}~
~Run Program~
~{56178623-93F2-4609-8990-5A0EADC2324B}~
~msiexec.exe~
~FALSE~
~-i %TEMP%\jpulse\JunosPulse.x64.msi CONFIGFILE=%TEMP%\jpulse\Ifs_config.jnprpreconfig ADDLOCAL=PulseSA,SAHostChecker -qn~
~FALSE~
~~
~Else~
~{15AAC3D4-F20C-4B4B-9988-173D7B15AFC5}~
~Run Program~
~{36FDF648-FCBE-4C08-BF31-B7525D434B2E}~
~msiexec.exe~
~FALSE~
~-i %TEMP%\jpulse\JunosPulse.x86.msi CONFIGFILE=%TEMP%\jpulse\Ifs_config.jnprpreconfig ADDLOCAL=PulseSA,SAHostChecker -qn~
~FALSE~
~~
~If~
~{4411FDBF-46D9-4531-971B-4C48577393C5}~
~ISWIN64~
~0~
~FALSE~
~FALSE~
~Get System Settings~
~{573F946F-0622-456A-A383-15C73D3D3A0C}~
~ISWIN64~
~65~
~Set Variable~
~{9566C500-A55D-466F-B804-4D03AD0FA2EE}~
~ISWIN64$MYAH$MYAH$FALSE~
~FALSE~


NOTE!
You can use script variables with the "COMMAND LINE PARAMETER" field of the RUN PROGRAM command .
For example; you could use the TEMPDIR pre-defined variable, instead of the %TEMP% environment variable or any other custom variable that you may require.

Alternatively, you could also use "(Un)Install MSI Setup plug-in" instead of using the RUN PROGRAM command to execute your msi files.
The (Un)Install MSI Setup plug-in can run any MSI to install it or remove it; and even capture the progress feedback and display it natively inside the InstallAware setup dialogs as if it were its own.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

jkirby
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:44 am

Re: More of a question then a problem

Postby jkirby » Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:57 am

thank you, i shall give it a go


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 112 guests