Tracking dialog sequences

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
icaronz
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 2:07 pm

Tracking dialog sequences

Postby icaronz » Thu Mar 27, 2014 8:13 pm

Hi,

I'm creating a application that have few different services that can be installed depending in the user need, to do so I have a custom setup screen where the user can select what services will be installed.

The trick is that each service has many configuration screens and I'm having problems with the back button as it is not always tracking back to the appropriate dialog screen, the control to display the correct dialog is very "manual" and have many if's statements to decide to what screen to jump to, for the way back this is not true, so if I have a if statement that jumps from dialog 1 to dialog 4 and I press back in dialog 4 it goes to dialog 3, then if I press back again to dialog 2 and so on.

I have the installer already created and this is a bug fix and all this different options to what dialog to go back to has been a impossible task, is there an automated way to do this? Os some king a array like where I can keep the sequence the dialog has been showing? What would be the best practices in this case?

Best Regards.

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Tracking dialog sequences

Postby FrancescoT » Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:23 pm

Dear Icaronz,

honestly, it is not clear to me in which way you have implemented your dialog sequence.

Could you post a minimal code snippet that shows how did you handle it?

It could be also helpful if you try with a sample, to describe how this should work instead.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

icaronz
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 2:07 pm

Re: Tracking dialog sequences

Postby icaronz » Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:04 pm

I can explain in code if it make it:

If variable WIZARD equals NEXT
If variable A equal TRUE
GOTO Label: FormA
end
else if variable B equal TRUE
GOTO LAbel: FormB
end
else if variable C equal TRUE
GOTO LAbel: FormC
end
else if variable D equal TRUE
GOTO LAbel: FormD
end
else if variable E equal TRUE
GOTO LAbel: FormE
end
else Wizard equal BACK
GOTO Label: FormStar

Now imagine I have the same over and over and the formC jumps to formE but in formE my back commando says GOTO Label: FormD, but the form It should really go back is to formE that was the one that sent it over.

Sorry I can't explain it better then this.

Thanks

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Tracking dialog sequences

Postby FrancescoT » Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:21 am

Dear Icaronz,

Now imagine I have the same over and over and the formC jumps to formE but in formE my back commando says GOTO Label: FormD, but the form It should really go back is to formE that was the one that sent it over.

I am not quite sure to follow your example, it should go back from formE to formC instead ... because formE has been triggered by formC, is it correct?

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 118 guests