Application checks for Update at every startup

Post specialized setup scripts you have created here.
robert.wenzlick
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:29 pm

Application checks for Update at every startup

Postby robert.wenzlick » Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:52 pm

I have a application that needs to check to see if there are any new updates every time the software starts.

Start program MyApp.Exe
MyApp.exe check update server
If Update available update, download and install
else
Open Program

Is it best to use the Patch option or Updates.

wileywilly
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 5:11 am

Postby wileywilly » Fri Aug 15, 2008 5:19 am

Am not sure about your IA version but in Version 7, there is a Web Update feature where you can use the Update Packs to set the url for your updates

After running your setup, then you will have the option of setting the time when the updates will occur - daily,weekly,monthly....but i doubt you can set it to check for updates every time you launch your application

You may have a reason for the need to frequently update but it may not be practical.

CandiceJones
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:03 pm
Contact:

Postby CandiceJones » Fri Aug 15, 2008 5:29 am

We actually have a blog post which shows you how to do this, its certainly possible!
Candice Jones
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

phunqe
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:08 am

Postby phunqe » Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:11 am

Candice, can you please provide a link to the blog post you are refering to.

Thank you.

Chris Miller
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Albany, NY
Contact:

Postby Chris Miller » Thu Dec 18, 2008 9:40 am

CandiceJones wrote:We actually have a blog post which shows you how to do this, its certainly possible!


Hi Candice,

Can you post the URL to the blog post that you are referring to? I've looked at all of the posts on http://www.installaware.com/blog/ and none of them cover this topic.

Were you referring to the white paper listed as "Using InstallAware to Deliver Web Updates"? That describes how to do an update from the installed application in general terms, but it would be helpful to see sample code that implements that functionality. I've been asked to bid on a project that has this requirement and it would be very helpful for me to know if this can be done with InstallAware.

CandiceJones
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:03 pm
Contact:

Postby CandiceJones » Thu Dec 18, 2008 10:07 am

Candice Jones

InstallAware

Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer

Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

midnightSun
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 12:44 pm

Re: Application checks for Update at every startup

Postby midnightSun » Tue Nov 16, 2010 3:30 am

I keep reading that the source is avaliable for the updater. Where is it?
Adding " Run Program $TARGETDIR$\myprogram.exe , startup in folder $TARGETDIR$ "
BEFORE every "Terminate Installation" isn't launching our program. We get an elevation prompt to run the updater then nothing after that. This is on a Win7 x86 machine. I will test other os when i get a chance but how can we call the updater code or better yet include it in our program?

mills
Posts: 814
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 7:10 pm
Location: Honolulu, HI

Re: Application checks for Update at every startup

Postby mills » Tue Nov 16, 2010 2:17 pm

When you check off the option for updates, a script will be included in your setup called "updates", visible with Designer edition or better. You may edit this script to suit your needs.

To test, you can add a messagebox to your setup that displays $EXEDIR$ or $ROOTDIR$. You can set the updates to manual and when you call for an update manually, you will be able to see where the "update setup" is located.
Andy Mills
InstallAware
Other Help:
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Product Guides - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... guides.htm
InstallAware Help - Press F1 in the InstallAware IDE.

midnightSun
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 12:44 pm

Re: Application checks for Update at every startup

Postby midnightSun » Fri Nov 19, 2010 8:01 am

I've found another issue with using this way to update.
On XP PRO installing our program using the right click "RUN AS" administrator credentials, causes issues when clients click our programs desktop/startmenu shortcut. When this happens our program cant access the internet, and has other "permission" related problems.


Return to “Sample Scripts”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests