Is there a way for installaware projects NOT to uninstall previous versions of the installed application when installing a new version?
The scenario is like this.
Our application is dependant on a network driver, this driver needs windows to reboot. When the user is upgrading to a new version of our application, the driver is already installed and needs not to be installed again.
But since installaware uninstalls the previously installed application this forces windows to reboot when its actually not needed.
Upgrade installation without uninstalling previous version..
-
Alex_Ronquillo
- Site Admin
- Posts: 364
- Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 11:51 am
- Location: USA
- Contact:
You may be looking for patching instead of upgrading. Take a look at the following whitepaper for more information http://www.installaware.com/installaware_patching.pdf
Alejandro Ronquillo
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
No im sorry this White paper dig not do it for us. Since it does an uninstall before installing the new versions.
Alex_Ronquillo wrote:You may be looking for patching instead of upgrading. Take a look at the following whitepaper for more information http://www.installaware.com/installaware_patching.pdf
-
Craig Daniel
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 11:25 am
-
Stephen Ibbs
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 5:44 am
Hi - it is possible to install files without uninstalling. I had exactly this problem and got help from this forum.
Search for 'Installation without registering' dated 26th Oct 2006. It works for me.
Essentially it is an installation that does nothing. However I store some files using the Creatives option, then after the 'installation' I use the 'Copy local files' commands to copy in the new versions of the files.
HTH
Stephen
Search for 'Installation without registering' dated 26th Oct 2006. It works for me.
Essentially it is an installation that does nothing. However I store some files using the Creatives option, then after the 'installation' I use the 'Copy local files' commands to copy in the new versions of the files.
HTH
Stephen

