shared.translation files useless in project directory

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
Post Reply
olivercry
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:03 am

shared.translation files useless in project directory

Post by olivercry »

Every time you build your project IA uses the translations.<language> files in the IA Program files/trans directory. In this process I observed that IA although copies the current translations into the project directory renamed to shared.translations.<lannguage>. Changes in these files will be overwritten at every build process by the files IA Program files/trans directory. They exist, but will never be used. Additionally if they are read-only (f.e. via source control) they will not be overwritten by the /trans files and get outdated with the time.

Normally I would assume that the same translation files in the project diretory have a higher priority than files in the program files directory. This would be fine cause you could build projects on every machine with an IA installation without to take with & switch the global translations
Is there any way to force IA to use these files instead of the ones in the program files directory?

Thanks in advance.
olivercry
ulrichard
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 5:45 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by ulrichard »

hi olivercry,

I have the trans folder in programs under version control, and as part of the build script it's being updated.

http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/archives/000660.html

maybe you have to remove the readonly flag as part of your build script then.

Rgds
Richard
http://www.pointline.com
http://www.paraeasy.ch
http://ulrichard.ch
olivercry
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:03 am

Post by olivercry »

Thanks for your answer ulrichard, but this doesn't answer my question:

Is there any way to force IA to use these files instead of the ones in the program files directory?
Handling the source control isnt the problem, especially at IA view.
What I meant is that IA can't handle write protection properly (same situation at "Localize", if you try to overwrite a read-only file, you anyway get a successful message) and that general settings don't overwrite project settings.

thanks,
olivercry
Post Reply