Delete all files at installation startup??

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
Post Reply
SteveSneed
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 4:19 pm

Delete all files at installation startup??

Post by SteveSneed »

I have built what seems to be a pretty generic and simple installation, which does not include either of the prereqs dialogs. However, when I run the installer, any and all files in the targetdir are erased *before* the welcome screen is displayed. This means if I start to install an update and then abort at the welcome screen, the previous version's files have been deleted and I can't continue to use the app!

Obviously I'm doing something wrong here, but I'm baffled as to what. Help! Thanks! :)

Steve Sneed
MichaelNesmith
Posts: 3452
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
Contact:

Post by MichaelNesmith »

Your installer is removing the old version before installing the new version but because you chose to hide the dialogs, you don't see a confirmation request or uninstallation progress.
Michael Nesmith
Install[b]Aware[/b]
[i]Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer[/i]
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
SteveSneed
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 4:19 pm

Post by SteveSneed »

OK, that's good to know. However, I don't want it to even attempt to uninstall the old version until I've gone through the process of agreeing to the EULA, confirming the modules to install, etc. - in other words, I don't want it to actually make *any* changes to disk until I get to the point where I've gone through all option selections and confirmed that I want to actually begin the installation process. Frankly, I can't picture any installation scenario that would want to remove all files of the existing version before it knows what parts of the to-be-installed version have been chosen by the user, and confirming an un-install before even displaying a welcome screen that allows the user to abort seems seriously counter-intuitive to me. Our software is installed in industrial settings by people who are seldom computer literate, and "Bubba" usually refuses to read instructions, even the ones clearly displayed on the screen in front of him; the installation needs to be as idiot-proof as possible.

Is making the un-install process be done after all user input something that can be configured via the normal interface of IA, or am I going to have to do a bunch of script editing to make it happen?

Thanks,
Steve Sneed
MichaelNesmith
Posts: 3452
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
Contact:

Post by MichaelNesmith »

The code that uninstalls is not hidden - its on top of your MSIcode script. Just move it anywhere you like.
Michael Nesmith
Install[b]Aware[/b]
[i]Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer[/i]
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
SteveSneed
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 4:19 pm

Post by SteveSneed »

I'll experiment with it. Thanks!

Steve
Post Reply