Cancelling 'uninstall > modify', removes everything

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
Post Reply
JohnO
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 9:52 am

Cancelling 'uninstall > modify', removes everything

Post by JohnO »

I haven't managed to find out how to get the right url into the installer for use by "<myapp>.exe /update". When I press the 'Update' shortcut to run that command, I get told that it can't contact the update server. I have tried using F1, but couldn't find the right search terms to tell me. I assumed it would use the same url as defined for each web media block. What I intended to do via Update, was to install the one block that I omitted on the first install. I can't spot anything likely to cover this in the msicode.

What do I need to do to be able to choose a missing part from the web server?

I did find that using Uninstall and then Modify Available Options, took me to the panel for selecting parts. I chose the missing part and the install commenced. But, I had to cancel it as I had to detach laptop from the network. What happened next seems like a bug to me. The 'installer' appeared to be baking-out the files downloaded, but carried on regardless and uninstalled everything. Is that the correct behaviour? I have repeated this and that is what happens.

A related question. How do I get my app into Windows 'Programs and Features', with update / repair options in the context menu? I'm sure one of my initial trials, probably using Quick Start, did create such an entry. This time I started with the Project Wizard, but skipped the detailed panels in order to complete the details later uising the Design view.

Regards, John
FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Cancelling 'uninstall > modify', removes everything

Post by FrancescoT »

Dear John,

I suppose that due the rush to have a package with all the possible features included, you are skipping some important learning points :roll: .
As you can easy understand, even if IA is a very immediate tool, a minimal learning curve is always required.

Honestly, I suspect you missed the differences that exist with WEB UPDATE and WEB MEDIA BLOCK.

A Web Updated is used when you need to delivery an update for an already distributed application, while WEB MEDIA BLOCKs are used to distribute components of an application.

I may suggest you to have a look at "Web Updates" and "Web Media blocks" respectively, with IA documentation and then also, please have a look at the document "WebAware Installation Technology (Partial Web Deployment) (see below link)".
It is a white paper that describes Web Media blocks usage.

By the way, under the following link you can find other useful docs;
http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm

Regarding your last question about ARP, this is strange because any package created with IA should have the Repair option available.
If not your case, please post a sample project and I'll check it.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
JohnO
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 9:52 am

Re: Cancelling 'uninstall > modify', removes everything

Post by JohnO »

Francesco
I agree. I will put on my reading glasses and my learning hat, and study.
Thanks for the info.
John
FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Cancelling 'uninstall > modify', removes everything

Post by FrancescoT »

:D
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
Post Reply