Hi,
Is it possible to use a MSI code variable in a VBScript?
If this is possible how should I handle this?
Kind regards,
Marko
MSI code variable to VBScript
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: MSI code variable to VBScript
Dear Marko,
how do you integrate the VB script with your project?
If it is an external file that you execute from the setup, you could pass an IA Variable to it as you do from command line.
Regards
how do you integrate the VB script with your project?
If it is an external file that you execute from the setup, you could pass an IA Variable to it as you do from command line.
Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
Re: MSI code variable to VBScript
Hi Francesco,
The VBscript is integrated within the project as a support file.
Regards,
Marko
The VBscript is integrated within the project as a support file.
Regards,
Marko
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: MSI code variable to VBScript
... you could pass an IA Variable to it as command line parameter (using the RUN PROGRAM command).
Regards
Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
Re: MSI code variable to VBScript
Hi Francesco,
Thank you for your reply.
Do you have an example how I could do this in MSI-code. I will try it by myself as well but it would be nice to see an example.
Regards,
marko
Thank you for your reply.
Do you have an example how I could do this in MSI-code. I will try it by myself as well but it would be nice to see an example.
Regards,
marko
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: MSI code variable to VBScript
Dear Marko,
it really simple ...
The above example excutes the vbscript "myscript.vbs" (from SupportDir at runtime ) and pass an IA Variable to it as command line parameter.
The same code snippet as IA clipboard format;
Hope this helps you.
Regards
it really simple ...
Code: Select all
Set Variable MYVAR to 1234
Run Program $SUPPORTDIR$\myscript.vbs $MYVAR$ (WAIT)
The above example excutes the vbscript "myscript.vbs" (from SupportDir at runtime ) and pass an IA Variable to it as command line parameter.
The same code snippet as IA clipboard format;
Code: Select all
~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~Run Program~
~{CDF79D0B-FAF1-4374-8DA4-382F32ADBFFE}~
~$SUPPORTDIR$\myscript.vbs~
~TRUE~
~$MYVAR$~
~TRUE~
~~
~Set Variable~
~{8E58E9BD-05BB-432E-A15B-70FA32EFBFE1}~
~MYVAR$MYAH$MYAH$FALSE~
~1234~
Hope this helps you.
Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 89 guests