When I modify this dialog, will this also be changed for all the projects, or just the current one. And if so, how to restore the dialog to its default state?
Just the current project. You can make the change apply to future projects by modifying the dialogs in the theme folders. To restore the dialog, you'd need to pop a checkbox in the dialog and set its properties, or copy over an unmodified theme dialog.