Setting silent install in code

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
ddebono
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:17 am

Setting silent install in code

Postby ddebono » Mon Jun 25, 2007 5:03 am

Hi,

Is it possible to set the installation to silent during execution, ie in the setup code itself ?

The reason for doing this is that we have converted from Inno setup who use the /SILENT and /VERYSILENT parameters and the program calling the installer is using this.

So we want to check this in the beginning of the installer code and take actions.

Do IA support the -q and -qb etc parameters from other installers ?

David

jimo
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:59 am
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Postby jimo » Tue Jun 26, 2007 9:17 am

Try something like this at the beginning of your code:

if Variable COMMANDLINE Contains (Ignore Case) /silent
Set Variable SILENT to TRUE
end
Jim Oswell
Software Engineering Manager, Dental
Greenway Health, LLC
http://greenwaymedical.com

ddebono
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:17 am

Postby ddebono » Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:08 am

Is there any way of setting in code that it shows the progess, but automatically progress without user intervention ?

jimo
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:59 am
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Postby jimo » Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:21 am

Yes, create your own vairable, don't use the SILENT variable and set the dialogs you do not want to show up by setting the variable in the diaply dialog command.
Like:
Display Dialog: welcome (if variable SKIPDIALOGS is FALSE), wait for dialog to return (modal)
Jim Oswell
Software Engineering Manager, Dental
Greenway Health, LLC
http://greenwaymedical.com

ddebono
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:17 am

Postby ddebono » Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:55 am

Hi Jim,

Thanks a lot.

I also found out that when making MSI files you can use -q and -qb to accomplish this. But not of course in code but from the calling program.

Strange that IA doesnt have a switch like -qb, and strange why is does not support the same parameters as MSI files.

David


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 64 guests