Parse a string

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
tomd
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 10:44 am

Parse a string

Postby tomd » Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:59 pm

I would like to parse a string that could contain 4 pieces of information that I would like to use in variables. The parse string drag drop script command will allow me to get 2 pieces. Is there a way to LOOP through a string and grab each piece.

example string:

5001:409@5006:109@5012:009@5024:090

I would like to use the 4 pieces in seperate variables. I used the RegistryEX plug in to get the string.

MichaelNesmith
Posts: 3452
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
Contact:

Postby MichaelNesmith » Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:39 pm

Use Label and GoTo, along with If, Parse String, etc.
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

sjziegler
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 3:25 pm

Re: Parse a string

Postby sjziegler » Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:14 pm

get what you want for the first string into a variable. Then populate the second variable with the rest of the string. Then parse the second variable into the second desired variable and the rest, etc, until you have all the values you need. I do this several times and used the same technique in Wise.

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Parse a string

Postby FrancescoT » Mon Jan 20, 2014 5:10 am

Thanks for sharing it!
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 108 guests