EditFile plugin

Interested in developing new plug-ins? Got one to share? Post here!
zchris
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:16 am
Location: Austria

EditFile plugin

Postby zchris » Wed Mar 02, 2005 4:31 am

I've created a simple plugin to replace tokens in text files.

It's quite handy to edit XML (.config) files - just put a generic token (e.g. @TARGETDIR@) into your XML and then run the plugin to replace all occurences of your token with a setup variable (e.g. $TARGETDIR$).

If you need to replace more than one token run the plugin multiple times.

You can download the plugin setup here (updated):

http://www.camelot.co.at/files/dist/Camelot-InstallAware-Plugins.exe

disclaimer: you are free to use this plugin for any purpose at your own risk.
Last edited by zchris on Wed Mar 23, 2005 3:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 954
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Wed Mar 02, 2005 4:51 am

Thank you very much for sharing this plugin with the InstallAware community!

Do you mind if we host the file on our own servers?

zchris
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:16 am
Location: Austria

Postby zchris » Wed Mar 02, 2005 4:56 am

sinan wrote:Do you mind if we host the file on our own servers?


I don't mind.

Hopefully it's bug free :)

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 954
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:07 am

I took a quick look and its wonderful :D
The file is also available on InstallAware servers at this address:

http://www.installaware.com/ia-editfile-plugin.exe

zchris
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:16 am
Location: Austria

Postby zchris » Thu Mar 03, 2005 6:45 am

I did update the plugin because of two minor bugs:
- variable names are now case insensitive.
- variable values containing " were parsed incorrectly.

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 954
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Thu Mar 03, 2005 5:35 pm

Thanks! The file on the InstallAware server has also been updated.

Many thanks for this very handy plug-in!

zchris
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:16 am
Location: Austria

Postby zchris » Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:36 pm


zchris
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:16 am
Location: Austria

Postby zchris » Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:09 pm

I've updated the setup.

EditFile
- optionally replaces \\\\ with \\ (e.g. should your path contain c:\\dir\\\\dir)
- optionally returns status

I thought about adding Unicode support but since the plugin interface is Ansi I don't think it would be useful.

I have now converted a few of our setups to IA. Did I mention that InstallAware is great?! :D

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 954
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Thu Mar 24, 2005 4:15 am

Thanks for your support! :D
Files on the InstallAware servers have also been updated.

I love your custom themes btw :lol:

Guest

EditFile plug-in and Browse Window

Postby Guest » Wed Aug 17, 2005 2:21 am

Hi,

I have downloaded EditFile plug-in. In order to edit text file. I have placed plug-in after Apply Install command. When the installation reach EditFile command, it displays a Brwoser window for folder asking to locate the original setup sources to continue operation? It's worth mentioning that both path and text file are correct!!

I have to mention to something, because I found it very interesting. During the installation wizard, I have to establsh a connection to MS SQL using RUN PROGRAM/RUN PROGRAMM AS command. But I found when I comment the command line, no browse window will be displayed. But as long as RUN PROGRAM/RUN PROGRAM AS command there, browse window will be displayed!!

Thanks in advance

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 954
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Wed Aug 17, 2005 5:30 am

The issue with the browse window being displayed, especially in connection with Run Program (As), may be an InstallAware issue. Can you please send me the latest version of your setup sources that exhibit this problem, so we can investigate?

Thank you.

jimo
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:59 am
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Postby jimo » Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:45 am

I am also having the same problem, the browse for folder window, asking for original setup source keeps coming up no matter where I put the EditFile command after Apply Install.

zchris
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:16 am
Location: Austria

Postby zchris » Thu Sep 01, 2005 8:20 am

jimo wrote:I am also having the same problem, the browse for folder window, asking for original setup source keeps coming up no matter where I put the EditFile command after Apply Install.


Were you able to resolve the problem?

jimo
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:59 am
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Postby jimo » Thu Sep 01, 2005 8:26 am

No, I abandoned using the edit file plug in.

zchris
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:16 am
Location: Austria

Postby zchris » Mon Sep 05, 2005 3:09 am

Jimo, do you have a small setup that shows the problem? I'd like to see it.


Return to “Plug-In Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests