Debugger problem in version 18

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
sjziegler
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 3:25 pm

Debugger problem in version 18

Postby sjziegler » Tue Nov 12, 2013 1:21 pm

I recently upgraded to version 18. I am attempting to debug an installation, but it is very difficult to tell what is actually running. When I step through the installation it stops on every line, regardless of whether it should be running it or not based on the value of variables used in if/else/end constructs. I originally created this project in version 17, which did not have this problem. It makes the debugger almost useless.

bokkie
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:30 am

Re: Debugger problem in version 18

Postby bokkie » Wed Nov 13, 2013 4:42 am

Could you try this? Create a new blank project and add some code like below. Do the usual pre-debug build, etc. Try debugging it. Does it still go through every statement? To be honest, I just tried debugging exactly the same and debugging worked just fine. Did you fully rebuild your actual project? I can't see why you wouldn't do so because IA will display some messages telling you about it, especially before debugging can commence.

Set Variable I to 0
if Variable I Equals 1
MessageBox: I, It's 1...
else
MessageBox: I, It's something else...
end
Peter. Smartly dressed, he still resembles an unmade bed.
InstallAware MVP

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Debugger problem in version 18

Postby FrancescoT » Wed Nov 13, 2013 10:31 am

Dear Sjziegler,

I just tried the debugger and it works fine.

Did you try Bokkie's suggestions?

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 97 guests