Difference between MAINTENANCE and NEEDSUPGRADE

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
Post Reply
soeinz
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 8:49 pm

Difference between MAINTENANCE and NEEDSUPGRADE

Post by soeinz »

Hi,

In the help file the descriptions of the NEEDSUPGRADE and MAINTENANCE pre-defined variables are:

MAINTENANCE=Initially TRUE if application has been installed before
NEEDSUPGRADE: TRUE if a previous version of the product was found

So can someone explain the difference to me.

Thanks.
Gizm0
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 8:47 pm

Post by Gizm0 »

MAINTENACE turns into TRUE when a you click at the "Add/Remove" button.
NEEDSUPRADE turns into TRUE, when a new setup is trying to be installed with the same ProductCode but with a different revision code.
Panagiotis Kefalidis
Software Design Team Lead
\"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure\"
Install[b]Aware[/b] Software Corporation
swarovski
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 8:32 pm

Post by swarovski »

Gizm0 wrote:MAINTENACE turns into TRUE when a you click at the "Add/Remove" button.
NEEDSUPRADE turns into TRUE, when a new setup is trying to be installed with the same ProductCode but with a different revision code.
Is there a variable available that like NEEDUPGRADE turns into TRUE only that the Setup.exe version is higher than the installed version?

Currently, I have to check it manually.
Gizm0
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 8:47 pm

Post by Gizm0 »

If you change your version number, you should also change your revision code (InstallAware does this by Default). You don't need to check it manually.
Panagiotis Kefalidis
Software Design Team Lead
\"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure\"
Install[b]Aware[/b] Software Corporation
swarovski
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 8:32 pm

Post by swarovski »

Yes, but it still allow a user to proceed 1.0 installation even the current installed version is 1.1.

Currently I have to manually check this to prevent...
Gizm0
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 8:47 pm

Post by Gizm0 »

Well, i guess if someone tries to install a previous version for a reason, you should allow him to. That's my opinion of course.
Panagiotis Kefalidis
Software Design Team Lead
\"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure\"
Install[b]Aware[/b] Software Corporation
TMacy
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 am

Maintenance

Post by TMacy »

Uh... we put CD's out every quarter. We have an unbelievable number of customers that "loose" their most current CD... and then think the need to reinstall, so will try to use an older CD. Maybe you have customers that have a valid reason to install an older version. Ours just do it by mistake.
Chris Miller
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Albany, NY
Contact:

Post by Chris Miller »

You could write a version number to the registry at install time and check against that version when installing over an existing version. If the new version is older than the existing version, you would display an error dialog and terminate the install.

Personally, I think the default behavior should be to disallow installs of previous versions over newer ones, but it's easy enough to code that rule in.

Chris Miller
VersaTrans Solutions
TMacy
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 am

Yep

Post by TMacy »

Yes... that's what we did last week. Looks like it should work.

Thanks!
Post Reply