Hi,
In the help file the descriptions of the NEEDSUPGRADE and MAINTENANCE pre-defined variables are:
MAINTENANCE=Initially TRUE if application has been installed before
NEEDSUPGRADE: TRUE if a previous version of the product was found
So can someone explain the difference to me.
Thanks.
Difference between MAINTENANCE and NEEDSUPGRADE
MAINTENACE turns into TRUE when a you click at the "Add/Remove" button.
NEEDSUPRADE turns into TRUE, when a new setup is trying to be installed with the same ProductCode but with a different revision code.
NEEDSUPRADE turns into TRUE, when a new setup is trying to be installed with the same ProductCode but with a different revision code.
Panagiotis Kefalidis
Software Design Team Lead
\"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure\"
Install[b]Aware[/b] Software Corporation
Software Design Team Lead
\"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure\"
Install[b]Aware[/b] Software Corporation
Is there a variable available that like NEEDUPGRADE turns into TRUE only that the Setup.exe version is higher than the installed version?Gizm0 wrote:MAINTENACE turns into TRUE when a you click at the "Add/Remove" button.
NEEDSUPRADE turns into TRUE, when a new setup is trying to be installed with the same ProductCode but with a different revision code.
Currently, I have to check it manually.
If you change your version number, you should also change your revision code (InstallAware does this by Default). You don't need to check it manually.
Panagiotis Kefalidis
Software Design Team Lead
\"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure\"
Install[b]Aware[/b] Software Corporation
Software Design Team Lead
\"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure\"
Install[b]Aware[/b] Software Corporation
Well, i guess if someone tries to install a previous version for a reason, you should allow him to. That's my opinion of course.
Panagiotis Kefalidis
Software Design Team Lead
\"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure\"
Install[b]Aware[/b] Software Corporation
Software Design Team Lead
\"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure\"
Install[b]Aware[/b] Software Corporation
Maintenance
Uh... we put CD's out every quarter. We have an unbelievable number of customers that "loose" their most current CD... and then think the need to reinstall, so will try to use an older CD. Maybe you have customers that have a valid reason to install an older version. Ours just do it by mistake.
-
Chris Miller
- Posts: 66
- Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:46 am
- Location: Albany, NY
- Contact:
You could write a version number to the registry at install time and check against that version when installing over an existing version. If the new version is older than the existing version, you would display an error dialog and terminate the install.
Personally, I think the default behavior should be to disallow installs of previous versions over newer ones, but it's easy enough to code that rule in.
Chris Miller
VersaTrans Solutions
Personally, I think the default behavior should be to disallow installs of previous versions over newer ones, but it's easy enough to code that rule in.
Chris Miller
VersaTrans Solutions

