Upgrade is not replacing files
Upgrade is not replacing files
Upgrade is not replacing files. The upgrade process is copying the new version of files if no previous version exist in the folder; otherwise the files are not being updated (size and date stamps are same as previous version).
-
Alex_Ronquillo
- Site Admin
- Posts: 364
- Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 11:51 am
- Location: USA
- Contact:
-
GrandChain
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 10:22 am
- Location: Edinburgh, UK
I also see this
Hi Alex,
I think you've misunderstood. I also see this behaviour (see http://www.installaware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3445).
I have a need for this because I have a family of products which share some common files, and I want those files upgraded to the latest version each time a new kit is installed. According to the documentation, it ought to do what I expect, but it doesn't:
Install Files
...
Notes
...
o Windows Installer's default behavior is to overwrite files on the target system if the ones you are copying are newer. ...
I'm using Version 7.0 (Build lonepine_rtm.071107)
Michael - can you make any suggestions? Is this a known bug? Is there a set of switches on a shared DLL which disables this behaviour? I have
[x] Make File Read Only
[x] File is Vital for Installation
[x] Shared DLL File - uninstall only if no other copies in use
All other options are clear.
Cheers,
Ian Brockbank
I think you've misunderstood. I also see this behaviour (see http://www.installaware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3445).
I can add to this. Not only are sizes and date stamps of the files in the destination folder the same as before I run the installer, so is the version number (and I increment the version number of every executable file before generating a new kit). However, the size, date and version numbers in the kit ARE different - InstallAware just isn't updating the files which already exist.(size and date stamps are same as previous version)
I have a need for this because I have a family of products which share some common files, and I want those files upgraded to the latest version each time a new kit is installed. According to the documentation, it ought to do what I expect, but it doesn't:
Install Files
...
Notes
...
o Windows Installer's default behavior is to overwrite files on the target system if the ones you are copying are newer. ...
I'm using Version 7.0 (Build lonepine_rtm.071107)
Michael - can you make any suggestions? Is this a known bug? Is there a set of switches on a shared DLL which disables this behaviour? I have
[x] Make File Read Only
[x] File is Vital for Installation
[x] Shared DLL File - uninstall only if no other copies in use
All other options are clear.
Cheers,
Ian Brockbank

