Upgrade is not replacing files

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
Post Reply
rumman
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 10:09 am

Upgrade is not replacing files

Post by rumman »

Upgrade is not replacing files. The upgrade process is copying the new version of files if no previous version exist in the folder; otherwise the files are not being updated (size and date stamps are same as previous version).
Alex_Ronquillo
Site Admin
Posts: 364
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 11:51 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by Alex_Ronquillo »

(size and date stamps are same as previous version)
That is why is not overwriting the files. IA assumes they are the same and there is no need to rewrite them.
Alejandro Ronquillo
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
GrandChain
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 10:22 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

I also see this

Post by GrandChain »

Hi Alex,

I think you've misunderstood. I also see this behaviour (see http://www.installaware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3445).
(size and date stamps are same as previous version)
I can add to this. Not only are sizes and date stamps of the files in the destination folder the same as before I run the installer, so is the version number (and I increment the version number of every executable file before generating a new kit). However, the size, date and version numbers in the kit ARE different - InstallAware just isn't updating the files which already exist.

I have a need for this because I have a family of products which share some common files, and I want those files upgraded to the latest version each time a new kit is installed. According to the documentation, it ought to do what I expect, but it doesn't:

Install Files
...
Notes
...
o Windows Installer's default behavior is to overwrite files on the target system if the ones you are copying are newer. ...

I'm using Version 7.0 (Build lonepine_rtm.071107)

Michael - can you make any suggestions? Is this a known bug? Is there a set of switches on a shared DLL which disables this behaviour? I have

[x] Make File Read Only
[x] File is Vital for Installation
[x] Shared DLL File - uninstall only if no other copies in use

All other options are clear.

Cheers,

Ian Brockbank
Post Reply