Check Process and Terminate it if it's running

Post specialized setup scripts you have created here.
swarovski
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 8:32 pm

Postby swarovski » Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:32 pm

Gizm0 wrote:Ok, it looks like a cookie issue.

Instead of browsing to forums from www.installaware.com/forum/, browse to http://forums.installaware.com and login from there (you'll probably be redirected to installaware.com/forum again, but if you browse back to forums.installaware.com, you're already logged in). Navigate here to this thread and try to download again.

It will work now.


Oh yeah!
It works. I followed exactly.
Thanks Gimz0 XD

jps
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 4:03 pm

Postby jps » Fri May 02, 2008 4:32 pm

could someone tell me how to utilize this mia file, pls? it can't be opened in IA.

Thx

wlwshangBigBear
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 9:16 am

Re:

Postby wlwshangBigBear » Fri Jul 11, 2014 9:24 am

Gizm0 wrote:Ok, it looks like a cookie issue.

Instead of browsing to forums from http://www.installaware.com/forum/, browse to http://forums.installaware.com and login from there (you'll probably be redirected to installaware.com/forum again, but if you browse back to forums.installaware.com, you're already logged in). Navigate here to this thread and try to download again.

It will work now.


It does not work and can not be downloaded.

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4851
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Check Process and Terminate it if it's running

Postby FrancescoT » Fri Jul 11, 2014 10:52 am

it is an old post and probably, it has been removed by the user.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

wlwshangBigBear
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 9:16 am

Re:

Postby wlwshangBigBear » Fri Jul 11, 2014 3:51 pm

SynthaxError wrote:thank's a lot for this script, i change PROCESS_NAME and PROGRAM_TITLE but it don't work in windows vista

Code: Select all

Set Variable MSGBOX to
Set Variable PROGRAM_TITLE to WinZip Executable
Set Persistent Variable PROCESS_NAME to WZQKPICK.EXE
Check for Process "$PROCESS_NAME$", get result into variable RUNNING
if Variable RUNNING Equals TRUE
 MessageBox: Terminate Process, The process $PROCESS_NAME$ is running and it will be terminated in order to continue the installation.$NEWLINE$Please save your work and then click OK.$NEWLINE$Click Cancel if you want to continue without terminating the process.
 if Variable MSGBOX Equals OK
   Terminate Program $PROGRAM_TITLE$
 end
end
 

any way, thank u for answering. is there some guys who could help me related to this topic. I have the similar problem, after I add several lines like above codes. I did some tests, at first installation, the application is installing, absolutely and then installaware detect the process running background, and then that message box is popped. but it is first time I try to install, so this logic does not make sense. any comments, welcome. thanks in advance

wlwshangBigBear
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 9:16 am

Re: Check Process and Terminate it if it's running

Postby wlwshangBigBear » Mon Jul 14, 2014 10:05 am

Hi Guys,

Could I detect whether the application which has the same name with what I want to install is running on the computer as soon as I launch and install the same installer with the higher version?

So far, I tried several ways. unfortunately, It can not work. as soon as I launch the installer and want to install it. does not matter whether the application is running, the install always popup messagebox and inform me the application is running.

what I added as the previous post shown.

any guys could help me? thanks a lot

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4851
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Check Process and Terminate it if it's running

Postby FrancescoT » Mon Jul 14, 2014 11:34 am

Dear User,

I just checked both "Check and Terminate" process commands ... and both work fine.

BTW, I released a simple project to test such functionality that (... see attachment).
To use it, leave Notepad.exe running while executing the setup package, otherwise the Message-Box used as confirmation for the process termination, it will be not displayed.

Hope this helps you.

Regards
Attachments
TerminateProcess.rar
(2.13 MiB) Downloaded 380 times
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE


Return to “Sample Scripts”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests