.net 1.1 won't detect upgrade to 1.1 SP1

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
Bugger
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:53 pm

Postby Bugger » Thu Nov 17, 2005 5:11 pm

I think the problem is that I installed from the full installer, not the web package.

The full installer was built on 11/14, the web installer on 11/17.

Re-installing now to find out.

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 1028
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Thu Nov 17, 2005 5:54 pm

Just to make sure, I re-downloaded the full installer, it worked. Perhaps your ISP cached the file somewhere and served the old version - these things happen sometimes.

Bugger
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:53 pm

Postby Bugger » Thu Nov 17, 2005 6:58 pm

Ok, I've completely re-installed, and upgraded using the web package.

upgrades from 1.0 to 1.1 SP1 work fine.

upgrades from 1.1 to 1.1 SP1 won't work. It doesn't detect that 1.1 SP1 needs to be installed. I've forced the detection to be true, and then the install fails to run.

Has the detection algorithm for 1.1 SP1 been borked somehow?

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 1028
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Thu Nov 17, 2005 8:32 pm

If you manually installed 1.1 SP1, and then removed it, the registry key for the 1.1 SP1 still remains behind. If you want to force a re-install of 1.1 SP1 every time, delete that registry key (referenced in your first post) before calling the plug-in. Since the uninstall of 1.1 SP1 does not remove that registry key, there is no reliable method to detect 1.1 SP1 when 1.1 is already installed.

Bugger
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:53 pm

Postby Bugger » Fri Nov 18, 2005 11:20 am

I'm not manually installing SP1. I've completely removed 1.1 from my machine, then re-installed 1.1 only, without installing SP1.

The registry key you mention shouldn't be removed, rather the value SP should be set to 0, indicating no service packs installed.

Regardless, I've been verifying that value is 0 before testing. Still, no dice.

For kicks, I completely removed the entire "v1.1.4322" key. And again, it won't install.

I can make it detect SP1 by doing the registry and folder checks myself, but the install won't run.

I really think the code responsible for determining if sp1 is installed is not working correctly. (As I can do it myself with no problems, every time.)

Bugger
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:53 pm

Postby Bugger » Fri Nov 18, 2005 11:34 am

If it's helpful, here's how I detect 1.1 SP1:

Code: Select all

Set Variable DOTNET11 to TRUE

Check/Install .NET Framework (check v1.1 with Service Pack 1, get result into variable DOTNET11)

if Variable DOTNET11 Equals TRUE

Does Folder Exist $WINDIR$\\Microsoft.NET\\Framework\\v1.1.4322 (get result into variable DOTNET11)

if Variable DOTNET11 EQUALS TRUE

Read Registry Key HKLM\\Software\\Microsoft\\Net Framework Setup\\NDP\\v1.1.4322 (get result into REGDOTNET11SP1)

if Variable REGDOTNET11SP1 not Greater Than 0

Set Variable DOTNET11 to FALSE

end

end

end

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 1028
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Fri Nov 18, 2005 11:35 am

I cannot reproduce that here.

Perhaps we can try the following: if you upload your built installer somewhere, I can take a look at it.

I can also upload a built installer that I know works here, and you can see if it fails over there.

How does that sound?

Bugger
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:53 pm

Postby Bugger » Fri Nov 18, 2005 11:46 am

Sure. Give me a few minutes to clean out any proprietary info.

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 1028
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Fri Nov 18, 2005 11:51 am

Great, I will upload my build here and let you know where to download it from shortly.

To help with testing, please let me know the following:
* OS version and service pack level
* Versions of .NET already installed on the machine for the test
* Versions of .NET that may have been installed and then removed

Bugger
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:53 pm

Postby Bugger » Fri Nov 18, 2005 12:01 pm

Sure.

OS:
XP SP2

Versions of .net installed during test:
1.0, 1.1

Versions of .net that have been installed and then removed:
1.1, 1.1 SP1, 2.0

Bugger
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:53 pm

Postby Bugger » Fri Nov 18, 2005 12:05 pm

I've PM'd you the url and info.

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 1028
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Fri Nov 18, 2005 12:09 pm

You may download my test installer from:

http://www.installaware.com/clients/dotNETv11sp1.exe

I will test your installer with the platform notes you mention and get back to you. Please let me know what happens.

Important - you state that you did install 1.1 SP1 and then removed it. The uninstall of 1.1 SP1 leaves behind the SP value set to 1. This value has to be corrected manually after the uninstall, before resuming testing, as I indicated earlier.

Bugger
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:53 pm

Postby Bugger » Fri Nov 18, 2005 12:21 pm

I've verified that the sp1 key was set to zero, every time before running the test. (and i verify that sp1 did or didn't install, using the same key.)

I've probably added/removed these a dozen times in the last couple days, so I've tested many different scenarios. The one described previously was my most recent.

Bugger
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:53 pm

Postby Bugger » Fri Nov 18, 2005 12:26 pm

Just tested your installer, also doesn't work.

I've just exported the registry key in question, to verify:

Code: Select all

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\SOFTWARE\\Microsoft\\NET Framework Setup\\NDP\\v1.1.4322]
"Install"=dword:00000001
"MSI"=dword:00000001
"SP"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\SOFTWARE\\Microsoft\\NET Framework Setup\\NDP\\v1.1.4322\\1033]
"Install"=dword:00000001
"MSI"=dword:00000001
"SP"=dword:00000000

Bugger
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:53 pm

Postby Bugger » Fri Nov 18, 2005 12:28 pm

Is there any other value that I can verify for you?


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 124 guests