Problem patch execution

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
anja_laenge
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:02 am

Problem patch execution

Postby anja_laenge » Tue Nov 11, 2014 2:37 am

Hello,

I created a patch for an installer. Starting the patch and telling it to go, it gives no response, I can watch the process in the task manager consuming first about 7MB and stopped it at about 500MB. Below are the last lines of the verbose log. What is going wrong, what does 'Product: [2] -- [3]' (Error1709) mean, and, most important, how to get it working?
If you need the whole log please provide a possibility to make it not public.

Code: Select all

=== Protokollierung beendet: 11.11.2014  08:55:31 ===
MSI (c) (54:6C) [08:55:31:630]: Note: 1: 1728
MSI (c) (54:6C) [08:55:31:630]: Note: 1: 2205 2:  3: Error
MSI (c) (54:6C) [08:55:31:630]: Note: 1: 2228 2:  3: Error 4: SELECT `Message` FROM `Error` WHERE `Error` = 1728
MSI (c) (54:6C) [08:55:31:630]: Note: 1: 2205 2:  3: Error
MSI (c) (54:6C) [08:55:31:630]: Note: 1: 2228 2:  3: Error 4: SELECT `Message` FROM `Error` WHERE `Error` = 1709
MSI (c) (54:6C) [08:55:31:630]: Produkt: OLA-SA -- Die Konfiguration wurde abgeschlossen.

MSI (c) (54:6C) [08:55:31:630]: Das Produkt wurde durch Windows Installer neu konfiguriert. Produktname: TT. Produktversion: 1.0. Produktsprache: German. Hersteller:TTT. Erfolg- bzw. Fehlerstatus der neuen Konfiguration: 0.

MSI (c) (54:6C) [08:55:31:630]: Grabbed execution mutex.
MSI (c) (54:6C) [08:55:31:630]: Cleaning up uninstalled install packages, if any exist
MSI (c) (54:6C) [08:55:31:630]: MainEngineThread is returning 0
=== Verbose logging stopped: 11.11.2014  08:55:31 ===



EDIT: Leaving the debug files and executing the .msp itself, I get a WindowsInstaller error message, telling me that the installer server could not install the upgradepatch because the program to be upgraded might be missing or the patch is targeting another version.
The product code, product name and version number are identical, Upgrade codes are matching, revision code is not altered automatically, but newly generated before patch build; "always cache setup sources" is fully checked, patch reference is set to a previously build single file msi.

EDIT2: From other posts I learned that patches are not possible with usage of the Native Engine.
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9762 and
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10083

speak of using another project that does not use APPLY INSTALL.
I am not sure if I understand this approach correctly. What exactly would be the steps for the dummy project?

Regards
Anja

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Problem patch execution

Postby FrancescoT » Tue Nov 11, 2014 11:56 am

Dear Anja,

I suggest you to have a look at following topics, where are available useful information on how to avoid common errors with patch creation.

Note, it's also available a ready to use sample project with the second link below.

- http://www.installaware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9656&hilit=+patch
- http://www.installaware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=8697

In addition, it's not clear to me if you are trying to create a patch with a Native Engine project.
If this is true, it is not possible to create binary differential patches for setups built with the native engine.

Hope this helps you.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Support
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

anja_laenge
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:02 am

Re: Problem patch execution

Postby anja_laenge » Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:08 am

FrancescoT wrote:Hello Francesco,

it is not possible to create binary differential patches for setups built with the native engine.


If I understand this right, it should be possible to create a patch using the Wholge-Files-option for setups built with the native engine?

And, yes, I try to patch a native engine setup.
In my post above I mentioned two posts where similar problems with patching a native engine setup where discussed.

In viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10083 you and the OP spoke of not calling Apply Install; does this refer to the project to be patched or the patch itself?

In my project the end user has to choose from one of four system configurations. Depending on his choice different target paths are chosen for the main program itself and other accompanying libraries that are placed at other locations of the system. So basically I have one major target path and six two ones. The "patch" would have to put new files in each of this locations.
So, would I build a dummy project with the same product code that has the sane configuration choice and does all installations and then create a patch from this?
Is that how to use the advice from the post above?


Regards
Anja

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Problem patch execution

Postby FrancescoT » Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:24 pm

Dear Anja,

with Native Engine you can't use patch capability at all!

The approach illustrated with that topic, only uses a new "dummy" project (based on a Blank Project template), to replace or overwrite some files on the target system.

In other words, that project doesn't install anything. It only executes a series of script commands to simulate a sort of "Patch" ... but it is not a Patch.

If you want you can use the same approach. In this case, in the Blank script of your Blank project, you have to define the command sequence that you want to execute over the target system.

Hope this clarifies your doubt.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

anja_laenge
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:02 am

Re: Problem patch execution

Postby anja_laenge » Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:44 am

Hello Franceso,

as mentioned before I have several target paths to manage. I can make variables permanent ("remember value when restarting setup"); can I access these values from another project?
How can I determine the main target path of another project of which I have product and revision code?

Regards
Anja

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5361
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Problem patch execution

Postby FrancescoT » Mon Nov 17, 2014 12:47 pm

Dear Anja,

You can use the "Save Feature Selections" & "Load Feature Selections" commands, to save and load feature selections manually if you wish to migrate feature selection states between different versions of a setup. This command also saves/ loads the values of any persistent variables, the pre-defined variables TARGETDIR, STARTMENU and ALLUSERS, and the installation processor architecture.

However if you need to share several custom variables between different project, you must develop a custom approach to save load them.
It could under system registry or using a file ... this is up to you.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 153 guests