Hi,
the problem is my setup use the create shortcut command to create a shortcut in desktop to a file already present in the system. It seems to work but there is a problem:
the path contains spaces and installaware automatically substitute space with underscores.
in this case the path is:
Z:\test\Sala metrologica\Data base sala metrologica\CCS
and the engine create a shortcut to:
Z:\test\Sala_metrologica\Data_base_sala_metrologica\CCS
I have tried with "", with variables, with compiler variables... but nothing, installaware continue to change the path.
How to do this?
Thank you. Bye
We have Installaware 18 (7.1.14)
create shortcut command and underscores
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: create shortcut command and underscores
Dear Zakal,
honestly; I never tried to create a shortcut for something that doesn't get installed with the installer.
Could you post the code snippet you used (please paste it within a code tag as IA Clipboard format).
Regards
honestly; I never tried to create a shortcut for something that doesn't get installed with the installer.
Could you post the code snippet you used (please paste it within a code tag as IA Clipboard format).
Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
Re: create shortcut command and underscores
first I have defined a variable
~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~Set Variable~
~{A56EDE13-67DF-4733-B7DB-13C4EE8A9C72}~
~CCS_SERVER_PATH$MYAH$MYAH$FALSE~
~"Z:\Uo1\collaudo\Sala metrologica\Data base sala metrologica\CCS\CCS.EXE"~
next I have created the shortcut
~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~Create Shortcut~
~{5F8F2C6B-A325-4330-B835-ABBEF3D34E1F}~
~$CCS_SERVER_PATH$|FALSE~
~ArtWare CCS XP~
~$DESKTOPDIR$|FALSE~
~Procedura gestione strumenti~
~~
~Z:\Uo1\collaudo\Sala metrologica\Data base sala metrologica\CCS|FALSE~
~|FALSE~
~|~
~0|~
this code create a shortcut on desktop that poin to Z:\Uo1\collaudo\Sala_metrologica\Data_base_sala_metrologica\CCS\CCS.EXE (that is not the correct path)
the strange thing is the working dir that is correct (Z:\Uo1\collaudo\Sala metrologica\Data base sala metrologica\CCS).
Maybe I not follow the correct rule. My idea is to create a setup that only install client dlls in system dir and get the exe directly from the server. In this way all users run the same exe.
Best regards.
~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~Set Variable~
~{A56EDE13-67DF-4733-B7DB-13C4EE8A9C72}~
~CCS_SERVER_PATH$MYAH$MYAH$FALSE~
~"Z:\Uo1\collaudo\Sala metrologica\Data base sala metrologica\CCS\CCS.EXE"~
next I have created the shortcut
~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~Create Shortcut~
~{5F8F2C6B-A325-4330-B835-ABBEF3D34E1F}~
~$CCS_SERVER_PATH$|FALSE~
~ArtWare CCS XP~
~$DESKTOPDIR$|FALSE~
~Procedura gestione strumenti~
~~
~Z:\Uo1\collaudo\Sala metrologica\Data base sala metrologica\CCS|FALSE~
~|FALSE~
~|~
~0|~
this code create a shortcut on desktop that poin to Z:\Uo1\collaudo\Sala_metrologica\Data_base_sala_metrologica\CCS\CCS.EXE (that is not the correct path)
the strange thing is the working dir that is correct (Z:\Uo1\collaudo\Sala metrologica\Data base sala metrologica\CCS).
Maybe I not follow the correct rule. My idea is to create a setup that only install client dlls in system dir and get the exe directly from the server. In this way all users run the same exe.
Best regards.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: create shortcut command and underscores
I'll check it|
Regards
Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: create shortcut command and underscores
Dear Zcal,
I used the following code with my test and it worked fine.
I suppose the error was caused "probably", by the double quotes with the CCS_SERVER_PATH variable initialization.
PS
With my test I had to replace the path you used, but the one I used it's quite similar ... the "full path" has a space character with each folder/sub-folder name. Obviously, I had to use a different EXE with the shortcut creation.
Hope this helps you.
Regards
I used the following code with my test and it worked fine.
Code: Select all
~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~Set Variable~
~{DBCB7F69-693A-41BA-B24C-45CD84D88CE7}~
~CCS_SERVER_PATH$MYAH$MYAH$FALSE~
~C:\my path\my path\my path\my path~
Code: Select all
~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~Create Shortcut~
~{3936E360-71B6-4832-B966-81FC91D1220D}~
~$CCS_SERVER_PATH$\testapp.exe|FALSE~
~ArtWare CCS XP~
~$DESKTOPDIR$|FALSE~
~Procedura gestione strumenti~
~~
~$CCS_SERVER_PATH$|FALSE~
~|FALSE~
~|~
~0|~
I suppose the error was caused "probably", by the double quotes with the CCS_SERVER_PATH variable initialization.
PS
With my test I had to replace the path you used, but the one I used it's quite similar ... the "full path" has a space character with each folder/sub-folder name. Obviously, I had to use a different EXE with the shortcut creation.
Hope this helps you.
Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
Re: create shortcut command and underscores
Dear,
in effect you code works. But not the mine.
Please try to create a setup with exactly my path, no worry if the file or the path does not exist. you will see that the created link will be underscored.
I have used your code, and the link is not underscored (also your path in my pc do not exists). Maybe the problem is some char in my path?
Please help me,
best regards
Alberto
in effect you code works. But not the mine.
Please try to create a setup with exactly my path, no worry if the file or the path does not exist. you will see that the created link will be underscored.
I have used your code, and the link is not underscored (also your path in my pc do not exists). Maybe the problem is some char in my path?
Please help me,
best regards
Alberto
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: create shortcut command and underscores
Dear Alberto,
I just tried using the path "c:\Uo1\collaudo\Sala metrologica\Data base sala metrologica\CCS" and it works correctly.
Instead if I use "Z" drive in-place of "C", I am able to replicate the same behavior as you reported.
I suspect that probably, this could be related to the fact that the drive is not physically present with the machine (as in my case the Z drive).
Let me see if I am able to find out something more.
Regards
I just tried using the path "c:\Uo1\collaudo\Sala metrologica\Data base sala metrologica\CCS" and it works correctly.
Instead if I use "Z" drive in-place of "C", I am able to replicate the same behavior as you reported.
I suspect that probably, this could be related to the fact that the drive is not physically present with the machine (as in my case the Z drive).
Let me see if I am able to find out something more.
Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
Re: create shortcut command and underscores
I, have you checked if the problem is the path non present or wrong?
Bye
Bye
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 76 guests