So I have moved over recently from InstallShield (THANK GOD!) and have a fairly complex install which (among other things) has an SQL Express prereq. It works fine on my development machine.
However, when I try out the installer on a clean machine (with just XP SP2 installed), the installer fails. It install the modules for installer 31, and .net 2.0 and then tries to install SQL express. After a while it pops up a dialog which basically says "SQL Express install failed. Please use windows update to install. Your install cannot continue".
So...where do I start to figure out what went wrong? I don't see any log files floating around or anything.
Why is it saying to use windows update also? I don't think you can install SQL Express using windows update last I checked...
This test machine (using virtual PC) has only had XP Pro with SP1a installed and the SP2 installed. My installer is the next thing I try...so it doesn't get much cleaner than that. I have the required resolution, memory (512MB), and disk available.
Help!?
-Jon
SQL Express Install failed...where do I start...
-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 3:51 pm
-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 3:51 pm
-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 3:51 pm
-
- Posts: 3452
- Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
- Contact:
Jon
In the Application Runtimes view, select the line that installs SQL Express. Then, click the Options button.
The first dialog lets you configure the service to check for. The service name is used to identify the instance of SQL Express that you are installing/checking for. This check assures that the installation will happen only when your desired instance is not already found.
The second dialog lets you configure the full details of the instance you actually will be installing. You have full control over the command line that is passed to the native SQL Express installer. You can enter your exact command line in the "Setup Command Line" field, or you can use the visual controls and options in the "Automatically Generate Command Line" field to generate your custom command line (remember to click the Generate Command Line button if you choose this latter option). You can add logging using this method to your SQL Express installer as well.
This should get you going! As long as you specify valid install options, setup will succeed.
In the Application Runtimes view, select the line that installs SQL Express. Then, click the Options button.
The first dialog lets you configure the service to check for. The service name is used to identify the instance of SQL Express that you are installing/checking for. This check assures that the installation will happen only when your desired instance is not already found.
The second dialog lets you configure the full details of the instance you actually will be installing. You have full control over the command line that is passed to the native SQL Express installer. You can enter your exact command line in the "Setup Command Line" field, or you can use the visual controls and options in the "Automatically Generate Command Line" field to generate your custom command line (remember to click the Generate Command Line button if you choose this latter option). You can add logging using this method to your SQL Express installer as well.
This should get you going! As long as you specify valid install options, setup will succeed.
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
No, MDAC is required on some systems (non-XP systems) for SQL Express.
XML 6 is included in the SQL Express package.
As for 512, it's enough for full install according to the documentation but even if the documentation is wrong, i made a test and i confirmed that 512 mb are enough.
XML 6 is included in the SQL Express package.
As for 512, it's enough for full install according to the documentation but even if the documentation is wrong, i made a test and i confirmed that 512 mb are enough.
Panagiotis Kefalidis
Software Design Team Lead
\"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure\"
InstallAware Software Corporation
Software Design Team Lead
\"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure\"
InstallAware Software Corporation
-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 3:51 pm
Thanks all...
I figured it out. I had done what Michael referenced and used "generate command line". Unfortunately, I didn't take a good enough look at the command line InstallAware generated. I had (falsely) assumed that it would only reflect the options that I had checked. However, you also threw in a couple of other "defaults". The one that was causing my install to fail is that you had set the SECURITYMODE=SQL - I hadn't asked you to do that and hadn't noticed it (I would have had to scroll left in the edit box).
If that is left off, SQL Express defaults to windows authentication mode which is my desired behavior. If that is inserted, you are required to provide a strong password. Since I wasn't, the SQL Express install was failing. Of course MS doesn't just look at the command line and log the error immediately...they go through 15 minutes of installation, fail and then rollback. Which means you have a lot of logs to look through for a silly mistake.
Obviously I should have taken a better look at the command line you generated. However, I would also suggest that if you are going to generate a command line in a GUI that the GUI reflects everything you are going to do. In other words, add GUI for the security mode and enabling of network protocols (the other item you "defaulted" silently). That would probably lead to less confusion. As it is, your "options" are very incomplete.
Thanks for the quick responses and the product that is SO much better than InstallShield. BTW, I posted on the InstallShield forums a while ago about slamming their product (after months of bugs) and pointing people to InstallAware (http://community.macrovision.com/showth ... p?t=158323 ) - you'd think they'd have deleted it but since they don't bother to read their forums...
-Jon
I figured it out. I had done what Michael referenced and used "generate command line". Unfortunately, I didn't take a good enough look at the command line InstallAware generated. I had (falsely) assumed that it would only reflect the options that I had checked. However, you also threw in a couple of other "defaults". The one that was causing my install to fail is that you had set the SECURITYMODE=SQL - I hadn't asked you to do that and hadn't noticed it (I would have had to scroll left in the edit box).
If that is left off, SQL Express defaults to windows authentication mode which is my desired behavior. If that is inserted, you are required to provide a strong password. Since I wasn't, the SQL Express install was failing. Of course MS doesn't just look at the command line and log the error immediately...they go through 15 minutes of installation, fail and then rollback. Which means you have a lot of logs to look through for a silly mistake.

Obviously I should have taken a better look at the command line you generated. However, I would also suggest that if you are going to generate a command line in a GUI that the GUI reflects everything you are going to do. In other words, add GUI for the security mode and enabling of network protocols (the other item you "defaulted" silently). That would probably lead to less confusion. As it is, your "options" are very incomplete.
Thanks for the quick responses and the product that is SO much better than InstallShield. BTW, I posted on the InstallShield forums a while ago about slamming their product (after months of bugs) and pointing people to InstallAware (http://community.macrovision.com/showth ... p?t=158323 ) - you'd think they'd have deleted it but since they don't bother to read their forums...

-Jon
-
- Posts: 3452
- Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
- Contact:
Thanks for this feedback. The new version displays a warning message box that prompts when the mixed option is checked and a password is not specified.
I also believe the SECURITYMODE=SQL option is set only when the "mixed mode sql authentication" box is checked, and then Generate Command Line is clicked.
Please send me a private message - I'd like to show you our latest version and get your feedback on whether you find it more helpful!
I also believe the SECURITYMODE=SQL option is set only when the "mixed mode sql authentication" box is checked, and then Generate Command Line is clicked.
Please send me a private message - I'd like to show you our latest version and get your feedback on whether you find it more helpful!
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 122 guests